Ask Me!
Get Help!
Analyzing Sources
Research is a conversation in which you engage with, interpret, synthesize and challenge different sources, ultimately adding your own voice to the conversation. The web is full of different source types that contribute different perspectives to the conversation, some more scholarly than others.
Instructions: Take 5-7 minutes to look at two of the sources below. Briefly decide what the source is about and whether it might be useful for a research paper.
Consider the following CRITERIA in your analysis:
STRUCTURE: Compare the physical characteristics of the items, such as length, sections, labeling, & graphics
TONE/STYLE: What does the writing style reflect about the purpose/intended audience of the article?
PURPOSE: To inform? Educate? Entertain? What audience is it aimed at?
AUTHOR: What can you tell about the author and their credentials/affiliations?
FInd EBooks
- Ebook Central
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
- eBook Collection (EbscoHost)
Search EBSCOhost's e-book collection.
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
Examples of Ebooks you might find:
Nothing but the Tooth by Publication Date: 2012-01-01While most books on dentistry describe the clinical and medical procedures involved, this book expands the field to examine the role of dentistry and teeth in everything from biology to biography. This book offers facts and figures regarding famous historical figures, such as John Hunter, Dr Crippen, Doc Holliday, and Paul Revere, exploring how their connections to dentistry shaped them, as well as the story of the two young dentists who discovered the principles of general anaesthesia. Other chapters focus on the amazing ranges of teeth in animals, from the teeth in piranhas to the tusks and ivory of elephants and narwhals, looking at their biological and cultural significance. The importance of teeth in understanding the evolution of humans and in revolutionizing the study of archaeology is also evaluated. This book is appropriate for dentists, medical and dentistry students, and non-specialists to introduce the myriad interesting aspects relating to teeth. Please note that print volumes do not include full colour. Includes well-illustrated and thoroughly explained examples and anecdotesPresents both popular and little-known instances of teeth s importance in historyWritten in an engaging tone appropriate for academics and the wider public"
The Etruscans and the History of Dentistry by Publication Date: 2017-02-17The Etruscans and the History of Dentistry offers a study of the construction and use of gold dental appliances in ancient Etruscan culture, and their place within the framework of a general history of dentistry, with special emphasis on appliances, from Bronze Age Mesopotamia and Egypt to modern Europe and the Americas. Included are many of the ancient literary sources that refer to dentistry - or the lack thereof - in Greece and Rome, as well as the archaeological evidence of ancient dental health. The book challenges many past works in exposing modern scholars' fallacies about ancient dentistry, while presenting the incontrovertible evidence of the Etruscans' seemingly modern attitudes to cosmetic dentistry.
Contemporary Esthetic Dentistry by Publication Date: 2011-01-01Covering both popular and advanced cosmetic procedures, Contemporary Esthetic Dentistry enhances your skills in the dental treatments leading to esthetically pleasing restorations. With over 1,600 full-color illustrations, this definitive reference discusses the importance of cariology and caries management, then covers essential topics such as ultraconservative dentistry, color and shade, adhesive techniques, anterior and posterior direct composites, and finishing and polishing. Popular esthetic treatment options are described in detail, including bleaching or tooth whitening, direct and porcelain veneers, and esthetic inlays and onlays.
Teeth by Publication Date: 2005-07-21Archaeological discoveries of teeth provide remarkable information on humans, animals and the health, hygiene and diet of ancient communities. In this fully revised and updated 2005 edition of his seminal text, Simon Hillson draws together a mass of material from archaeology, anthropology and related disciplines to provide a comprehensive manual on the study of teeth. The range of mammals examined has been extended to include descriptions and line drawings for 325 mammal genera from Europe, North Africa, western, central and northeastern Asia, and North America.
Forensic Dental Evidence: an Investigator's Handbook by Publication Date: 2010-01-01Provides the base for investigating, identifying and processing forensic dental evidence. This edition leads off with an explanation of dental nomenclature and quickly advances to the newest developments in trace dental evidence, methods for trace DNA evidence, and mass disaster cases (9/11, Bali, Thailand). Bowers covers how digital imaging of evidence has assisted in cases where incarcerated individuals have been exonerated.
Nothing but the Tooth by Publication Date: 2023-08-23Readers will enjoy Teresa Yang's "practical approach to smile care" (Booklist) that will make "will make readers' next trip to the dentist a little less intimidating" (Publishers Weekly). Provides practical information and advice on topics related to dental and overall health. Have you ever visited a new dentist and been told you need a "smile makeover," with the implication that if your teeth were whiter and straighter, you would be more successful and happier? Or maybe you've never had a cavity - and now, suddenly, you have a half dozen that require immediate attention. Perhaps you've been told you need a root canal or a crown or implant. What are all these things? Which procedure is best for your situation? Did you leave those offices thinking, "It's not really bothering me. Do I need to get all this work done?" Nothing But the Tooth is a ready guide to dental health that answers all your questions and the ones you didn't even know to ask. It begins with the most important question: how to choose a competent and ethical dentist - and ends with a discussion about technological advances in the dental field. Topics such as the cost of dental treatment, pediatric and geriatric dental needs, and the link between sleep apnea and your mouth are covered. Most importantly, it guides readers to a better understanding of the link between dental and overall health.
Magazines (Not Scholarly Journals!)
The non-academic science magazines listed below might have helpful articles on your topic that are written for a general audience.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
- ProQuest Databases
This is a portal to a growing list of Proquest research products, including Theses & Dissertations, Historical Newspapers, ABI/Inform business collection, and more. Note: we do not subscribe to all the titles on the list.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
- PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- ScienceDirect
A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Nexis Uni
New version of Lexis Nexis Academic. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and full-text law review articles. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.