Subject and Course Guides: English 160 &161: Introduction to Library Research: Grunow

Databases for Researching Crowd Behavior/Mass Hysteria

Academic Search Complete
Great general database for scholarly and popular articles. Often more manageable to use than the homepage search box.
Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
America: History and Life
This is the best database for American History. You can use it find information about the historical contexts for riots, protests, and all kinds of mass gatherings. (For history outside North America, use Historical Abstracts.)
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.

America: History and Life is a resource for a variety of disciplines, including:

* History
* American Studies
* Anthropology
* Genealogy
* Interdisciplinary Studies
* Literature/Folklore
* Multicultural Studies
* Popular Culture
* Sociology
* Women's Studies/Gender Studies
* History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law
Historical Abstracts
Historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Published since 1954, this database has long been recognized as among the leading bibliographies for historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
PsycINFO
PsycInfo is the best database for psychology and can help you find articles about how psychologists understand crowd behavior. For crowd psychology, search for group dynamics, social psychology, and collective behavior.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
Sociological Abstracts
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
ATLA indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 488,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 215,000 essay citations from over 15,700 multi-author works, and more than 446,000 book review citations. This database begins in 1949 although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
Ebook Central
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.

UIC Newspaper Databases
This guide will connect you to UIC's online newspaper collections.

ProQuest Databases
This is a portal to a growing list of Proquest research products, including Theses & Dissertations, Historical Newspapers, ABI/Inform business collection, and more. Note: we do not subscribe to all the titles on the list.

Scholarly Articles

Source Comparison Activity

Take a look at the three sources below. Do you notice any similarities or differences? Which one is most difficult to understand? Which would be most useful?

Source A

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

English 160 &161: Introduction to Library Research

Databases for Researching Crowd Behavior/Mass Hysteria

Scholarly Articles

Source Comparison Activity

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library