Research Topics
Source Evaluation
Instructions: Examine the sources with your partner, and consider the following questions:
- Who is the author? Does it list any information about them?
- What type of publication/writing is this? (Look at format and language)
- Who is the intended audience of this source?
- How is the information presented?
Books
-
Ebook Central
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
Magazines & Newspapers
Search or browse a select group of magazines that the library subscribes to by using the links below. You can also search for magazine articles by using the library search on the homepage or by using the database Academic Search Complete.
-
Chicago Tribune (1985-current)This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need.
-
New York Times
NYTimes.com provides full access to all New York Times digital content, including news, multimedia, reviews, opinions, blogs, videos, podcasts, and newsletters.
First-time users, please select “Create Account” to create an NYTimes.com personal account using your UIC email address. After creating your account, you may use it to log into NYTimes.com and The New York Times app from any location on any device. You can find more detailed instructions about registration in the newspapers guide.
Article Databases
-
Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
-
Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate provides full-text to a large number of business sources, including business journals, trade publications and business magazines.
Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
-
Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
-
Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
-
ProQuest Databases
This is a portal to a growing list of Proquest research products, including Theses & Dissertations, Historical Newspapers, ABI/Inform business collection, and more. Note: we do not subscribe to all the titles on the list.
-
APA PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.