Subject and Course Guides: English 160 &161: Introduction to Library Research: Barton

Researching Water and the Environment

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full-text to a large number of business sources, including business journals, trade publications and business magazines.
GeoRef (ProQuest)
Includes GeoRef In Process. Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef with coverage from 1693-current is a comprehensive geosciences database. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. GeoRef In Process does NOT contain the most current records and should not be confused with a database of Recent References.
The majority of the records originate from non-English language literature that was not necessarily published recently.
Sociological Abstracts
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS Index)
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
This database is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. Coverage includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
Historical Abstracts
Historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Published since 1954, this database has long been recognized as among the leading bibliographies for historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

Source types

Take a look at the two sources below. What do they have in common? What are a few differences? Which one is a scholarly article?

Reconciling the Chicago River

How Climate Change is Impacting US River Systems

Topics

Click on the link below and add your topic idea to the padlet. To do so, click on the "plus" sign and type in your idea.

Topic Ideas

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

English 160 &161: Introduction to Library Research

Researching Water and the Environment

Source types

Topics

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library