Subject and Course Guides: English 160 &161: Introduction to Library Research: McGehee

Share your Topic!

Share your topic to the jamboard

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
GenderWatch
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
This is a full text database that focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Current articles from ethnic-focused news groups worldwide.
The general categories of ethnic groups represented in the Ethnic NewsWatch database are:
*African American/Caribbean/African
*Arab/Middle Eastern
*Asian/Pacific Island
*European/Eastern European
*Hispanic
*Jewish
*Multi-ethnic
*Native People
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film and television books, articles, reviews, essays, and more.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications and selected coverage of 300 more. In addition to full-text journals, it includes Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914 and more than 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Full text coverage of communication and mass media and related fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides citation coverage in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with merging of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. In addition, Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles.

Primary Sources for Stand-Up Comedy

What is a Primary Source?
A primary source is material that was created at the time being studied. It can be a document, a recording or an artifact. It serves as an original source of information about the topic. Primary sources are distinguished from secondary sources which usually are analysis, commentary or a filtered account of the topic.

Types of primary sources (might also work as search terms for finding primary resources in the library catalog or Summon):

Film/video clips
Personal narrative: autobiographies, memoirs
Audio recordings
Artwork
Photographs
Historical newspapers or magazines

Tools for finding Primary Sources:

YouTube
YouTube is a great place to find clips of your comics doing stand-up.

Docuseek2
Docuseek 2 is a platform for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films. It provides access to over 750 documentaries covering a wide variety of subjects including social issues, sustainability, the environment, and many more. Includes captions.
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy provides students access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable. If you are a faculty member who needs a film activated for a class, please use the request form in Kanopy. Please include the class name and number, and the date the film is needed.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text PDF articles from several major U.S. newspapers including: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Courier, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and Washington Post.
Readers' Guide Retrospective:1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature.
This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

English 160 &161: Introduction to Library Research

Share your Topic!

Recommended Databases

Primary Sources for Stand-Up Comedy

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library