Subject and Course Guides: Nursing: Technology & Industry Information

Recommended Databases

Technology
Industry Information

Technology in Healthcare

IEEE Xplore
IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.

Note: If you're unable to set up an IEEE account, go to https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/. After creating an account, go to IEEE in the library website and sign in.

Embase Medical Device Search
Select controlled vocabulary terms to search journal articles and conference abstracts related to your selected medical device or technology.

MEDLINE via PubMed@UIC
Try using the advanced search to search keywords for your technology.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Industry Reports

IBISWorld
Large collection of industry reports, covering current conditions, outlook and competitive information. Includes 1300 US industries and 75 global industries.

Note: Users will need to create individual accounts to access some of the features.
Since 1971 IBISWorld has provided thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information. It provides valuable insight into America’s 700+ industries. Users will need to create individual accounts to access some features of the resource.
Statista
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.
Gartner Research
Gartner Research provides access to research and analysis on information technology (IT) technologies, practices, and strategies performed by the Gartner Group. The University of Illinois Administrative Information Technology Services subscribes to this database. Selected reports are available for students, faculty and staff of the University of Illinois.
Gartner Research contains research and analysis done by the Gartner Group that can be used for planning, decision making, and measurement purposes for making continual process improvements towards industry best practices. It does not include Dataquest documents nor special reports. Other information is only available by request to the University's Gartner representative. Individuals needing help accessing the content should contact the AITS Service Desk.

Governmental Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Publication Search
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)'s publications offer practical information to help a variety of health care organizations, providers, and others make care safer in all health care settings.
HealthIT.gov
The official website of the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC). Browse the "Topics" tab for more information about use of technology in health care.
NICHSR
The National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology (NICHSR) is website from the U.S. National Library of Medicine & National Institutes of Health with resources on Health Informatics. Includes a link to the Health Services Research (HSR) PubMed Queries, premade filters to find PubMed citations relating to health care quality or to health care costs, e.g.: Appropriateness; Process assessment; Outcomes assessment; Costs; Economics; Qualitative research; and Quality improvement.
Lister Hill National Center for Biomedical Communications
LHNCBC conducts research and development in biomedical informatics and the use of advanced communications and computing technologies to improve how NLM (National Library of Medicine) brings clinical data and health information to consumers, health care providers, and researchers.
Telehealth.hhs.gov Research
Discover telehealth research studies funded through Health and Human Services (HHS).
NIST Health and Bioscience
As a non-regulatory agency, the National Institute of Statndards and Technology (NIST) provides a solid foundation of measurement assurance that enables innovations in health and bioscience: Medical researchers and manufacturers of diagnostics and treatments use NIST research, calibrations, and standards development leadership to be able to efficiently develop new products, meet regulatory requirements, and ensure efficacy and safety of treatments.

Informatics Organizations

American Medical Informatics Associations
Publications, Industry Information, Government Affairs and more all surrounding the growing field of medical informatics.
Alliance for Nursing Informatics
The Alliance for Nursing Informatics (ANI), cosponsored by AMIA & HIMSS, advances nursing informatics leadership, practice, education, policy, and research through a unified voice of nursing informatics organizations. Check out their statements and positions and current issues resources for sources to use assignments.
Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS)
HIMSS (Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society) is a global advisor, thought leader and member-based society committed to reforming the global health ecosystem through the power of information and technology.

Journals to Browse

Other Library Guides

Biomedical and Health Informatics
by Amelia Brunskill Last Updated Jul 3, 2024 926 views this year
Biomedical Visualization
by Amelia Brunskill Last Updated Jul 3, 2024 473 views this year

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Nursing: Technology & Industry Information

Introduction

Recommended Databases

Technology in Healthcare

Industry Reports

Governmental Resources

Informatics Organizations

Journals to Browse

Other Library Guides

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library