Finding Books & Dissertations
- CARLI I-Share CatalogSearch 70+ Illinois Colleges and order books unavailable at UIC.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Big Ten Academic Alliance
Provides downloadable doctoral dissertations originating from universities in the Big Ten conference from 1997 to present. More dissertations from other North American and European universities are available for preview and individual purchase.
- Library Catalog for UIC LibrarySearch for E-Journals or print journals in the Library Catalog
- WorldCat (FirstSearch platform)
Union catalog with holdings information from libraries across the world.
Nursing E-Books Collections
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files. - AccessPediatrics
AccessPediatrics provides access to text books, atlases, videos, and other resources related to pediatrics, information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review. Includes captions. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- Ebook Central
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
- LWW Health LibraryLWW Health Library meets the needs of educators and institutions by providing a single portal to foundational and clinical science content, as well as multimedia ancillaries for teaching and learning.
- R2 Digital Library
Provides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works.
- SAGE Research MethodsProvides over 1,000 core texts as well as thousands of additional videos, cases, datasets, tools, and how-to guides for research methods across the disciplines.
- Wiley Online Library
Platform for searching across all Wiley journals, online books from 2005-2011, and Current Protocols laboratory manuals.
Additional E-book Collections
- AccessPharmacy
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
- AccessSurgery
Comprehensive online surgery resource aimed at medical students. Includes access to leading surgical textbooks, such as Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery and Zollinger’s Atlas of Surgical Operations.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey replaces the content formerly offered through MD Consult.
- NCBI BookshelfFree access to books and documents in life science and healthcare from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Contains select titles on neuroscience, biology and public health and epidemiology from Oxford's publishing program.
- SpringerLinkA growing collection of e-books published by Springer and Humana Press in copyright years 2004 to present, through 2010. Coverage includes Architecture and Design; Behavioral Science; Biomedical and Life Sciences; Business and Economics; Chemistry and Materials Science; Computer Science; Earth and Environmental Science; Engineering; Humanities, Social Sciences and Law; Mathematics and Statistics; Medicine; Physics and Astronomy, and more.
Reference E-Book Collections
- Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- DSM-V Library
This is the newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). It includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5, and DSM-5 Legacy.
- DSM Legacy Collection
The collection has previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. They include DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Search Mental Measurements Yearbook With Tests In Print in EBSCOhost. Access limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Tip: Open link to the database in new tab. If you get the EBSCOhost Select New Service page, close the tab and return to the Databases A-Z List and try accessing the database again. - SAGE Reference E-Books
Growing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
- SAGE Research MethodsProvides over 1,000 core texts as well as thousands of additional videos, cases, datasets, tools, and how-to guides for research methods across the disciplines.
Search Nursing Books@Ovid
 |
|
Finding UIC College of Nursing Dissertations
All UIC theses and dissertations deposited from Fall 2011 onward are available in INDIGO, UIC's institutional repository. Faculty, staff, and students can deposit their research and scholarship - unpublished and, in many cases, published - directly into INDIGO.
Here's how to find both print and online UIC College of Nursing dissertations:
- Go to Advanced Search in the UIC catalog.
- Enter the University of Chicago Nursing as keywords in the Advanced Search field.
- Under the Resource Type menu, select Dissertations then search.
Once you see the results, you can either select Available Online to see the electronic dissertations or Held by the Library to see just the print ones.
E-Book Search
Find E-books
E-books may be found in UIC Library Search.
- Login for fullest results.
- Select UIC Catalog only.
- Select "Books" and "Available Online" in the left margin.
Finding Books in the Library
To find books by title, author, or subject, search our Library Catalog.
Most books at the Library of the Health Sciences are shelved by the
National Library of Medicine Classification system. Books written specifically for nursing are usually classified "WY". Here is a select list of where you can find books related to nursing:
- QS Anatomy.
- QT Physiology.
- QU 145 Nutrition.
- QV Pharmacology.
- QY 1-39 Lab Tests & Procedures.
- QZ Pathology.
- WB 205 Physical Examination.
- WB 340-356 Drug Administration.
- WY 11-11.1 History of Nursing.
- WY 13-15 Reference Works.
- WY 16 Nursing as a Profession.
- WY 17 Atlases. Pictorial Works.
- WY 18-18.2 Nursing Education. Review Books.
- WY 20.5 Research.
- WY 26.5 Informatics.
- WY 31 Statistics. Surveys.
- WY 49 Handbooks.
- WY 85-87 Ethics. Nursing Theory. Psychology of Nursing Care and Nurses.
- WY 100-100.4 Nursing Care, Assessment.
- WY 101-145 Special Fields in Nursing.
- WY 150-170 Medical-Surgical. Geriatrics. Maternal-Child. Pediatrics. Psychiatric. Etc.