School Nurse: Home

AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files.

AccessPediatrics provides access to text books, atlases, videos, and other resources related to pediatrics, information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review. Includes captions. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.

ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts. 

Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. 
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration

Current answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. You must register for an account using your uic.edu email in order to access Essential Evidence Plus.

Physicians around the world use Isabel to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis. By entering the information normally captured in a patient workup, Isabel provides physicians with a list of possible diagnoses to help them construct their thinking and make an accurate final diagnosis quickly and easily at the point of care.

Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. Includes captions and transcripts.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.

Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus.

UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.

Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.

VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.

Note: users can also sign up for a FREE VisualDx Personal Account by clicking the Quick Registration Link below while on your institution Wi-Fi network or VPN. VisualDX Institutional Login 
Access provided courtesy of the College of Medicine.

CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.

Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.

For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.

Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com

Search Education Research Complete in EBSCOhost.

Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.

For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.

Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com

Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.

For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.

Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations and additional life sciences books and databases. From mid-1960s to present.

Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. 
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration

Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present. 

Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.

Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 600 full text education journals, 1965 to present.

Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.

For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.

Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.