Subject and Course Guides: Nursing: Patient Education

SALUD & MEDLINEplus

MEDLINEPlus
Consumers' health information produced by the National Library of Medicine that is authoritative and up to date.
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINEPlus provides health professionals and consumers information that is authoritative and up to date. MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 500 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.

SALUD
Spanish Access to Literature / Uso Directo

Library Resources for Patient Education

For more additional patient education resources, take a look at the Consumer Health Research Guide.

ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.

Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified
It is updated daily. Searches can be filtered by content type, by specialty, by time and relevance.
Consumer Health Complete - EBSCOhost
Consumer-oriented coverage of all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Consumer Health Complete is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. It includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis.
DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.

Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.

As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
consumer health information including reference books, reports and pamphlets, drug information and more.
This database is a rich collection of consumer health information including health reference books, reports and pamphlets, drug information and more.

MedCounselor Fact Sheets from Clinical Pharmacology
more...less...
English & Spanish drug information for the patient
Patient Education from Access Medicine
more...less...
This patient education information was provided courtesy of McGraw-Hill's Postgraduate Medicine: The Practical Peer-Reviewed Journal for Primary Care Physicians

Rehabilitation Reference Center
Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with available evidence for their information needs in the areas of: Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.
UpToDate
UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.

Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.

Drug Information

MedlinePlus -- Drug Information
more...less...
A guide to over 9,000 prescription and over-the-counter medication information including herbs and supplements.
Drug Information Online
more...less...
The Drugs.com mission is to be the Internet’s most trusted resource for drug and related health information. We will achieve this aim by presenting independent, objective, comprehensive and up-to-date information in a clear and concise format for both consumers and healthcare professionals.
Consumer Drug Information
Provided by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
more...less...
The FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation. The FDA is also responsible for advancing the public health by helping to speed innovations that make medicines and foods more effective, safer, and more affordable; and helping the public get the accurate, science-based information they need to use medicines and foods to improve their health.
HerbMed
more...less...
HerbMed® - an interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. Most herbal resources on the World Wide Web provide summaries of the data that have been interpreted and presented from a particular point of view. HerbMed provides "as is", neutral access to the data underlying the medicinal use of herbs. HerbMed also provides uniquely comprehensive access to the available scientific publications and data on each herb, with dynamic updating to ensure completeness.

Free Patient Education

For more additional patient education resources, take a look at the Consumer Health Research Guide.

American Academy of Pediatrics
Family Doctor.org
Kids Health.org
MedlinePlus
more...less...
Patient education from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
SALUD
Spanish health education materials.

Consumer Health Information Resources

Free and Reliable Online Health Information Resources:

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus, from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides information that is authoritative and up to date. Includes a variety of health topics, conditions, and drug information, as well as, a medical encyclopedia, videos and games, and current news. Information is available in English and Spanish.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDC provides a wide-variety of reliable health information.
Food Labeling & Nutrition
From U.S. Food & Drug Administration
Genetic Science Learning Center
The Genetic Science Learning Center is a science and health education program located in the midst of the bioscience research being carried out at the University of Utah.
Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference is the National Library of Medicine (NLM) website for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes associated with those conditions.
Health Finder
Reliable health information from the government on a wide variety of topics.
Healthline
A wide variety of information from a website with HONcode certification.
Mayo Clinic
"Mayo Clinic's award-winning website offers consumer health information and self-improvement tools. Mayo Clinic's medical experts and editorial professionals bring you access to the knowledge and experience of Mayo Clinic for all your consumer health information needs, from cancer, diabetes and heart disease to nutrition, exercise and pregnancy. "
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
NCCIH is the federal government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. NCCIH is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Quackwatch
Quackwatch, Inc., is a nonprofit corporation whose purpose is to combat health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, and misconduct. Its primary focus is on quackery-related information that is difficult or impossible to get elsewhere. Founded by Dr. Stephen Barrett in 1969 as the Lehigh Valley Committee Against Health Fraud, it was incorporated in 1970.

Dictionaries

Help Finding Associations

Health Directories
more...less...
Directories to help you find libraries, health professionals, services and facilities.

Health Information on the Web

Resources for finding and evaluating health information on the Web:

Medical Library Association (MLA) User's Guide
more...less...
This guide outlines the collective wisdom of medical librarians who surf the web every day to discover quality information in support of clinical and scientific decision making by doctors, scientists, and other health practitioners responsible for the nation's health. This guide is supported by the Medical Library Association (MLA), the library organization whose primary purpose is promoting quality information for improved health and whose members were the first to realize that not all health information on the web is credible, timely, or safe.
National Library of Medicine (NLM) Guide
more...less...
NLM librarians can't answer questions about individual medical cases or offer medical advice, because we are not doctors, nurses, or pharmacists. You can use this guide to help find health information resources.
Evaluating Internet Health Information
more...less...
This is a link to a tutorial that teaches you how to evaluate the health information that you find on the Web. It is about 16 minutes long.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Nursing: Patient Education

SALUD & MEDLINEplus

Library Resources for Patient Education

Drug Information

Free Patient Education

Consumer Health Information Resources

Free and Reliable Online Health Information Resources:

Dictionaries

Help Finding Associations

Health Information on the Web

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library