Resources for Journal Selection
Resources to Review Potential Journals Related to Your Project:
- Edanz Journal SelectorSearch by keyword or field of study from over 28,000 journals to locate a potential publication opportunity.
- JANE: Journal / Author Name EstimatorEnter a manuscript's abstract in Jane to compare your manuscript to millions of abstracts in PubMed to find the best matching journals, authors, or articles.
- Directory of Nursing JournalsA list of disciplinary nursing journals created by the International Academy of Nursing Editors (INANE). Recommend searching your population or specialty to narrow down potential selections.
- NAHRS Nursing Journal ListThe Medical Library Association Nursing and Allied Health Resource Section created a listing of Nursing Journals, their indexing and evidence-based content published in them. [Link will open an Excel spreadsheet]
- NLM Catalog Listing of Current Nursing JournalsList of current nursing journals indexed in MEDLINE/PubMed.
- SQUIRE-friendly Journals ListListing of journal using the Quality Improvement standards for preparing a scholarly article, SQUIRE.
Resources to Review Journal Quality:
- Ulrichsweb/Ulrich's Periodicals DirectoryThis database will help you see if a journal is peer-reviewed or as they call it "refereed" and the indexing in databases such as PubMed or CINAHL so other professionals can find your article.
- Scimago Journal RankingsA ranked list of journals where you can narrow down to the disciplinary subject.
- Journal Citation Report from Web of ScienceThe JCR report the impact factor for journals. Use the browse by category option to filter to the Health Science journal category list.
Carter-Templeton, H., (December 12, 2019) "Informatics: Protect Yourself and the Nursing Profession from Predatory Journals" OJIN: The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing Vol. 25, No. 1. DOI: 10.3912/OJIN.Vol25No01InfoCol01
A brief article addressing unethical publication practices of predatory journals. This article will help you verify the legitimacy of the journal you are selecting.
EndNote Resources for Journal Selection
EndNote's Manuscript Matcher feature allows you to search for recommended journal titles based on Journal Citation Reports and the Impact Factor. This feature can be access through the desktop version of EndNote starting with version X8, and EndNote Online, the free version of EndNote.
E-Journals at UIC
- Citation LinkerEnter appropriate citation information into the form below, press the 'Look Up' button to view full text options.
- Library CatalogFind both print and electronic journals in the UIC library catalog.
Find it @ UIC
Find full text articles from all our UIC Library databases by clicking on 
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.
BrowZine
Scholarly Publication Models
One aspect of selecting a publishing model is knowing your rights as an author. No matter what publication model you pursue, it is essential that you review any contracts associated with the publication of your manuscript.
When publishing, authors are presented with a contract or copyright transfer agreement drafted by the publisher. Many publisher drafted agreements transfer copyright fully to the publisher thereby restricting an author's subsequent usage of his or her published work, including reuse of the work in teaching and further research. After transferring copyright to the publisher, the author generally has little say in how the work is later used and restricts the dissemination and impact of scholarship.
- Think Check SubmitGuidance for authors to find trustworthy journals for their work.
- SHERPA/RoMEOA database of open access journals that provides summaries of self-archiving permissions and conditions of rights given to authors on a journal-by-journal basis
- Author Rights: UIC Library Publishing, Scholarly Communication, and Open Access GuideA comprehensive guide on author rights and guides of contract language in regards to copyright to your own work. Prepared by Sandy DeGroote, UIC Library Scholarly Communication Librarian.
- Understanding your rights: pre-prints, post-prints and publisher versionsAn article from the publication "Scientific American" explaining the versions of manuscript as it moves through the publication process and what you as the author can do with those versions.
The traditional model of academic publishing is the subscription-based journal. The subscriptions are either paid by the reader or libraries providing the journal in their collections. In effect, users are paying to read the content. Due to the cost of subscription fees, access to your article may be limited which can lessen the impact of your project. In addition, it usually takes longer from submission to acceptance and publication in subscription-based journals because:
- A certain number of articles are needed to publish an issue
- Publishers have a surplus of publishable articles due to space limitations
The following YouTube video "Open Access Explained!" created by Piled Higher and Deeper (PHD) Comics. The video explains open access in context of science research and publication.