Subject and Course Guides: English 160 &161: Introduction to Library Research: O'Connor

Comparing Sources

Skim through the sources below and consider the following:

STRUCTURE: Compare the physical characteristics of the items, such as length, sections, labeling, & graphics
TONE/STYLE: What does the writing style reflect about the purpose/intended audience of the article?
PURPOSE: To inform? Educate? Entertain? What audience is it aimed at?
AUTHOR: What can you tell about the author and their credentials/affiliations?

Which source do you think is scholarly?

Source A

Art Databases

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)‎ (1974 - current)
Artbibliographies Modern cites reviews, exhibition catalogs, books, and dissertations on modern and contemporary art.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Featuring full-text articles plus abstracting and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, Art Full Text is a useful database for art students and art historians. It covers many topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, film and architecture. The database also includes Art Index Retrospective which covers index from 1929-1984.
The database covers fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more. In recent years, its coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art has expanded greatly, along with its material on new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
ARTstor
Artstor contains over 2.5 million high-definition arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences images, rights-cleared for educational use, from a wide variety of contributors around the world. Mobile device users will not have full access to the database.

Note: Off campus users may need to login or register to view other collections.
JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford (formerly Grove) Dictionary of Art Online plus image links cross-referenced to art galleries and museums. Access doesn't include Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Feedback Form

Please fill out the short form below. This will help me improve these library sessions for the future. Thank you!

Library Session Feedback Form

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

English 160 &161: Introduction to Library Research

Comparing Sources

Art Databases

Feedback Form

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library