Try out multiple databases, some general/multidisciplinary and some that are subject specific.
What category or discipline does your topic fall under? There is probably a subject-specific database that will have in-depth coverage of research in that field.
Use the Library Search on the UIC Library homepage find books (e-books, print books, and book chapters) as well as articles. Book chapters can provide helpful overview/background information on a topic whereas articles often have a very specific focus (they might examine a specific study versus providing broad context)
Saving and Citing: Look for the permalink options to find a permanent link for a source. Use the Cite option to generate a citation in any style. Set up a RefWorks account to save citations to books and articles and generate bibliographies.
Get help with searching and any aspect of research by asking a librarian! Use Chat with a Librarian or set up Help By Appointment under Contact Us on the UIC Library website
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
This is a portal to a growing list of Proquest research products, including Theses & Dissertations, Historical Newspapers, ABI/Inform business collection, and more. Note: we do not subscribe to all the titles on the list.
This is a portal to a growing list of Proquest research products, including Theses & Dissertations, Historical Newspapers, ABI/Inform business collection, and more.
LLBA covers disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Covered dates are 1973 - current, with monthly updates.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.