Procedure and Education Video Collections
Via UIC Library, you have access to hundreds of procedure videos. Direct links to video collections are below.
- Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
The Video Atlas was originally intended to be used by individual medical and dental students. Because of its realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, the Video Atlas has become popular with students and teachers in many other fields and also with people not on a professional learning path who are looking for information about human anatomy. Includes captions.
- APA PsycTherapyAPA PsycTherapy provides clinicians, counselors, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring known therapists. This proven counseling training method is an invaluable tool to remain abreast of the latest psychotherapy techniques. Includes captions and transcripts.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th editionBates' visual guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. Bates' Visual Guide features Bates' physical examinations skills videos, as well as OSCE Clinical Skills videos. Includes captions.
- Counseling and Therapy in VideoCounseling and Therapy in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes captions and transcripts.
- Dental Education in Video
A video encyclopedia of dentistry and dental technique, delivering instant online access to hundreds of high-definition videos featuring world-renowned clinicians and educators. Includes captions and transcripts.
- Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
Streaming educational video on a full range of academic subjects, including arts, humanities, business, social sciences, and STEM. Includes audio description, captions and transcripts for some videos.
- Food Studies Online
Food Studies Online is a curated collection that provides archival content, ephemera, videos, and other materials that are relevant to food studies. Archival content comes from the National Archives and Records Administration. Ephemera includes educational pamphlets from food production companies, food labels, food advertisements, and recipe books. There is also a menu discovery service that searches more than 20,000 menus provided through the New York Public Library and the Los Angeles Public Library. Includes captions and transcripts for video content, but no captions or transcripts for audio content.
- Health And Society In Video
Defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society-- with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews. Includes captions and transcripts.
- ICE Video LibraryProvides powerful streaming video collections of real patients and therapists in occupational therapy and physical therapy programs. Videos are available 24/7 for in-class or online teaching.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access ICE Learning Videos.
Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=973
MacOS : https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=904
Linux: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=910
Android: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=954
IOS https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=964 - Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) Science Education VideosDirect link to JoVE Science Education videos.
Note: to create a JoVE test for a video, you need to create an account and then register as either a professor or student. Then you need to click confirm under Newsletter to complete the registration. - LWW Health LibraryLWW Health Library meets the needs of educators and institutions by providing a single portal to foundational and clinical science content, as well as multimedia ancillaries for teaching and learning.
- Nursing Assessment in VideoNursing Assessment in Video provides demonstrations and step-by-step instructions for performing physical assessments of patients. Includes captions and transcripts.
- Nursing Education in VideoOnline collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. Includes captions and transcripts.
- Early Years Clip LibraryThe Early Years Clip Library is a new online resource comprising hundreds of short training film clips covering child development, play, effective learning, provision, effective teaching and specific theories & approaches. Some content has captions and transcripts.
- SAGE Research MethodsProvides over 1,000 core texts as well as thousands of additional videos, cases, datasets, tools, and how-to guides for research methods across the disciplines.
- Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
Covers the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more. Includes captions and transcripts.
Usage of Images
Images that are in the public domain or where the copyright has been consigned to the Library may be used freely, with attribution, for research, study and educational purposes. For permission to publish, distribute, or use an image for any other purpose, please look for any Request Permissions link near the image. Unsure where to look? Ask a librarian. Please attribute images to the source.
Multimedia Tools
- AccessMedicine MultimediaIncludes Audio, Images, Video
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th editionBates' visual guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. Bates' Visual Guide features Bates' physical examinations skills videos, as well as OSCE Clinical Skills videos. Includes captions.
- ClinicalKey MultimediaSearch over over 13,000 medical and surgical videos and over 5 million images
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal. Includes captions and transcripts.
Note: to create a JoVE test for a video, you need to create an account and then register as either a professor or student. Then you need to click confirm under Newsletter to complete the registration. - UpToDateUpToDate Online is a medical knowledge environment designed to deliver scientific research literature at the point of patient care. Under UIC's site license, the service has certain physical boundaries for usage. Included are UIC facilities in Chicago, Rockford, Peoria and Champaign-Urbana. The UIC Library has also arranged for access in UIUC campus buildings to aid UIC students and faculty at our Urbana location. UIC users do not have access to the MyUptoDate features.
Online Sources for Images & More
- PubChemChemical database focused on the biological activities of small molecules.
- NCBI Structure DatabaseAlso called the Molecular Modeling Database. View 3D structures, locate similar compounds, and more.
- Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)A collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
- Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)Images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)PHIL is the gateway to the Center for Disease Control's digital images.