Clinical Queries
Select CLINICAL QUERIES under PubMed Tools.
Ovid Medline
- MEDLINE through Ovid (1947 to Present)National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
Clinical Trials
- Clinical Trials.govRegistry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.
Practice Guidelines
- Practice Guidelines in Primary CareFrom Access Medicine: CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, 2020 Ralph Gonzales, Jean S. Kutner
Procedures
Diseases & Conditions
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files. - ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.
Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified - Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration - DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
- Isabel Clinical Decision Support
Physicians around the world use Isabel to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis. By entering the information normally captured in a patient workup, Isabel provides physicians with a list of possible diagnoses to help them construct their thinking and make an accurate final diagnosis quickly and easily at the point of care.
- Essential Evidence PlusCurrent answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. You must register for an account using your uic.edu email in order to access Essential Evidence Plus.
- LWW Health LibraryLWW Health Library meets the needs of educators and institutions by providing a single portal to foundational and clinical science content, as well as multimedia ancillaries for teaching and learning.
- Rehabilitation Reference Center
Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with available evidence for their information needs in the areas of: Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.
- VisualDX
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.
Note: users can also sign up for a FREE VisualDx Personal Account by clicking the Quick Registration Link below while on your institution Wi-Fi network or VPN. VisualDX Institutional Login
Access provided courtesy of the College of Medicine. - UpToDate
UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.
Drug Information
- AccessPharmacy
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
- AHFS Drug Information
AHFS Drug Information is a drug information database, providing an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy.
- Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKeyComprehensive drug reference solution providing quick access to current, accurate and clinically-relevant drug information.
- Medical LetterIndependent, critical evaluations of drugs for physicians and other health professionals. Also Adverse Drug Interactions system and Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy.