Reference Books
The following call numbers represent where you can find popular reference or reserve books:
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
QV 13 Pharmacy
W 13 Medicine
WA 13 Public Health
WB 13 Medical Encyclopedias
WU 13 Dentistry
WY 13 Nursing
Directories
QV 22-22.1 Pharmacy
W 22-22.1 Health Professions
WA 22-22.1 Public Health
WB 22-22.1 Medicine
WU 22-22.1 Dentistry
WX 22-22.1 Hospitals
WY 22-22.1 Nursing
Drug Information
QV 738-738.1 Pharmacopoeias
QV 772 Non-Prescription Drugs
Ethics
QV 21 Pharmacy
W 50 Medical
WA 21 Public Health
WB 60 Bioethics, Clinical Ethics
WU 50 Dentistry
WY 85 Nursing
Laboratory Techniques
QY 25 Manuals
QY 39 Handbooks
Statistics
QV 16 Pharmacy
W 16 Health Professions
WA 16, WA 900 Public Health
WB 16 Medicine
WU 16 Dentistry
WX 16 Hospitals
WY 31 Nursing
Style Manuals/Writing Guides
WZ 345 APA, AMA
Terminology
QV 15 Pharmacy
W 15 Health Professions
WA 15 Public Health
WB 15 Medicine
WU 17 Dentistry
WY 16 Nursing
E-reference Collections
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files. - Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- DSM-V Library
This is the newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). It includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5, and DSM-5 Legacy.
- Oxford Reference OnlineIncludes medical and allied health dictionaries. Oxford Reference Online is a digital reference shelf of topical encyclopedias and dictionaries.
The Literature Collection topics covered are American, French, German, and Italian literatures, with Spanish literature soon to be added, as well as more specific disciplines such as crime fiction, fairy tales, literary works translated into English, and Women’s Studies, as well as individual authors, such as Chaucer. Children’s Literature is a recent addition, as is a dictionary of drama.
The Western Civilization Collection currently includes six dictionaries or encyclopedias (sixteen volumes) covering the period from the time of Socrates until the Enlightenment. Special periods addressed include Classical Antiquity, Byzantium, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Reformation, and the Enlightenment. - SAGE Reference E-Books
Growing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
- SAGE Research MethodsProvides over 1,000 core texts as well as thousands of additional videos, cases, datasets, tools, and how-to guides for research methods across the disciplines.
Style Guides
Style guides are often located in reference and are for use in the library, please check record for more information.
- AMA Manual of StyleThe 11th edition of the American Medical Association Manual of Style online contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts.
- The Bluebook : a uniform system of citation.Call Number: KF245 B658ISBN: 9301010720Use this book to create legal citations in APA format. The APA book based their legal citations on this book.
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineCall Number: E-book
Publication manual of the American Psychological AssociationCall Number: WZ345 P976 2010ISBN: 15579879126th ed.
Successful scientific writing: a step-by-step guide for the biological and medical sciences by Call Number: WZ345 M439s 2008ISBN: 0521699274
AMA Manual of Style
- AMA Manual of StyleThe 11th edition of the American Medical Association Manual of Style online contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts.
Additional Reference Resources
- Journal Citation Reports
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Search Mental Measurements Yearbook With Tests In Print in EBSCOhost. Access limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Tip: Open link to the database in new tab. If you get the EBSCOhost Select New Service page, close the tab and return to the Databases A-Z List and try accessing the database again. - Current ProtocolsCurrent Protocols provides access to the large collection of authoritative, peer-reviewed, regularly-updated research methods and topical overviews in the life sciences. In January 2021, the publisher merged all individual legacy protocol titles into a new title, Current Protocols. The UIC Library only subscribes to:
Current Protocols in Immunology
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
The archives for both sections can be accessed by selecting Browse Articles and clicking on Issue Archive.