Subject and Course Guides: Health Sciences Gateway: Doing Research

More Databases

Can't find what you're looking for?

Check the Database A-Z list.

Full Text Access

Find full text articles from all our UIC Library databases by clicking on

PubMed@UIC

Research Databases for Health Sciences

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration
EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.

Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.
EMBASE is an abstract and indexing database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. It currently contains more than 15 million records from Excerpta Medica Database (1974 to present) and selected Medline records (1966-present). Currently the Library does not own the archives of Embase from 1947 to 1973.

ETHX
more...less...
ETHX

A Bibliographic Database on Bioethics and Professional Ethics.

HAPI: Health and Psychosocial Instruments :
Information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests). Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
This is a database that provides information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing and allied health sciences scholarly journal literature.
This is a database that focuses on nursing and allied health, and which provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals.

Literature, Arts, & Medicine
more...less...
The Literature, Arts, & Medicine Database is an annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film, video and art which was developed to be a dynamic, accessible, comprehensive resource in MEDICAL HUMANITIES, for use in health/pre-health and liberal arts settings.

Journal Citation Reports
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
MEDLINE through Ovid (1947 to Present)
National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 12 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
MEDLINE via PubMed@UIC
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations and additional life sciences books and databases. From mid-1960s to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
PapersFirst
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Pharmaceutical Abstracts
The International Pharmaceutical Abstracts Database provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.
The International Pharmaceutical Abstracts Database provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly.
PTSDpubs (1871 - current)
Database produced at the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Formerly PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress) this is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to a wide range of literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, including works in psychiatry, psychology, social work, criminology, and law.
PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
Science Citation Index [SCI] - ISI Web of Knowledge
Access to articles found in scholarly journals in science and technology (1970 to present)
The ISI® Indexes provide access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 7000 of the world's scholarly journals covering the arts & humanities, science and technology, and social sciences. The ISI Indexes include the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Science Citation Index Expanded.
Scopus
Scopus contains over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide with 49 million records, 78% with abstracts. It Includes over 5.3 million conference papers and provides 100% Medline coverage with interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys,
TOXLINE
Literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
TOXLINE provides access to citations to literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.

RefWorks

UIC Library Search

Discover the world of library content

Take a look at the Search Help Guide to learn more about finding articles, books, and more.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Health Sciences Gateway: Doing Research

More Databases

Full Text Access

PubMed@UIC

Research Databases for Health Sciences

RefWorks

UIC Library Search

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library