Subject and Course Guides: English 160 &161: Introduction to Library Research: Damitz

Extending your Research

Brief Research Reflection:

Take a few minutes to think about the state of your research (bring up the document if that makes it easier).

What threads of the conversation are strongest? Weakest?
Are there gaps you need to fill in (topics, subtopics, types of sources?)
What questions do you still have about about the topic?
In general, what challenges--if any--are you having with the research process?

Share your topic to the Jamboard

Subject-Specific Databases

The databases below can be searched together through EbscoHOST databases

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film and television books, articles, reviews, essays, and more.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications and selected coverage of 300 more. In addition to full-text journals, it includes Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914 and more than 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.

Note: to watch the video on how to search, go to MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Full text coverage of communication and mass media and related fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides citation coverage in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with merging of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. In addition, Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
Project Muse
Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Project MUSE® offers more than 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Newspapers and Magazines

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Current articles from ethnic-focused news groups worldwide.
The general categories of ethnic groups represented in the Ethnic NewsWatch database are:
*African American/Caribbean/African
*Arab/Middle Eastern
*Asian/Pacific Island
*European/Eastern European
*Hispanic
*Jewish
*Multi-ethnic
*Native People
GenderWatch
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
This is a full text database that focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Newspaper Source
Current major newspapers and selected regional newspapers plus newscast transcripts. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.
This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor and The Times (London) as well as selected full text from more than 180 regional newspapers including: Boston Globe, Detroit Free Press, Houston Chronicle, Miami Herald, San Jose Mercury News, etc. Full text transcripts are also included from Face the Nation, CBS Evening News with Dan Rather, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, National Public Radio, etc.
Nexis Uni
New version of Lexis Nexis Academic. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and full-text law review articles. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.

Canvas Test

share your topic

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

English 160 &161: Introduction to Library Research

Extending your Research

Share your topic to the Jamboard

Subject-Specific Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Newspapers and Magazines

Canvas Test

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library