Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Nursing: Library Access from Anywhere

This guide has links to databases, evidence-based practice tools, tutorials, and more.

Important Accounts

UIC netID
Use your UIC netID & password when prompted to access databases and various library resources.
Please view the "How to obtain a UIC NetID?" help article for more information.

Interlibrary Loan System
When the library doesn't have access to a book or an article, you can request it from another library. Read more about Interlibrary Loan on the "Request Items" help page.
If you live closer to another CARLI member library, contact them to explore options of picking up items there.
Please note that to request items through I-Share you will need to have an iCard (student ID from UIC). If you want to request a student ID, please contact your home department.

RefWorks (Citation Management Tool)
RefWorks allows you to organize your citations and build bibliographies, and is free to UIC students.
To sign-up and learn more, review our RefWorks Help webpage.

Distance Education Guide

Library Database Access

Access databases from the Library website and research guide pages. By clicking on the links from these pages, you will be prompted to login with your UIC NetID and password to view the UIC Library's resources. Most databases require authentication using your UIC NetID.

Full Text Access

Find full text articles from all our UIC Library databases by clicking on

Find it @ UIC

Requesting Journal Articles

If the UIC Library does not own an item or you are located on a regional campus without physical Library access, you may request articles and book chapters by using the Interlibrary Loan service. Articles will be sent to your Interlibrary Loan account as a PDF. Please review the YouTube video below for more information about this service.