Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

A Guide to the UIC Archives

The University of Illinois at Chicago Archives                    Leveraging our past to inform the future™

Human Resources Records

The permanent records from the equal human resources records schedule include:
 

  • Affirmative Action]/Equal Employment Opportunity Files
    Affirmative Action plans and reports, agency workforce State reports, VETS 100 reports, and IBHE Employment Plan reports.
          – hold 3 years after report date then transfer to University archives
  • Employment Applicant and Search Files
    For Vice President, Chancellor, Vice Chancellor, Provost, Vice Provost, or Dean: vitae/résumé, copies of published works, letters of reference, certifications, and other documents directly related to the individuals submitting applications.
          – hold 1 year after completion then transfer to the University Archives
  • Employment History Files
    A synopsis of each employee's employment history, including name, dates hired and separated, titles, and for each position held: pay grade and salary, dates held, percent time, and departmental affiliation.
          – hold 6 years after separation then transfer to the University Archives
  • Human Resources Policy Administration Files
    Minutes of committee and task force meetings, program statements, annual reports, budgets, long range plans, and reference materials such as rules, regulations, or guidelines aiding in the operation of HR functions.
          – hold 10 years after completion then transfer to the University Archives
  • Labor Management Relations Files
    Union contract negotiation files and labor arbitration files include Labor and Union management meeting notes and publications, contract proposals, counter proposals, correspondence, planning documents, cost analyses, tentative agreements, and final contracts.
          – hold 10 years after contract expires or arbitration process completed then transfer to the University Archives
  • Personnel Employment Files
    For faculty and academic professionals: vitas/résumés, correspondence (with faculty and sr. administrators), lists of publications, and sabbatical files.
          – hold 6 years after separation then transfer to the University Archives