Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

A Guide to the University Archives

The University of Illinois Chicago Special Collections & University Archives

Please note

**The Special Collections and University Archives reading rooms are reopening August 26, 2020 on a limited basis.  Learn more about visiting and requesting an appointment.**

About the University Archives

The University Archives is the official repository for historical assets from the University of Illinois Chicago and its predecessor institutions, dating back to the establishment of the Chicago College of Pharmacy in 1859. In addition to the records of the offices, colleges, departments, and units at UIC, the University Archives also include student life material and papers of faculty, staff, and alumni.

Special Collections and University Archives is located in the Richard J. Daley Library and the Library of the Health Sciences–Chicago.

Search the University Archives

Try the new UIC Special Collections and University Archives Finding Aid Search!

We're pleased announce a preview of the new search system for UIC finding aids.  You can use this system to discover resources in Special Collections and University Archives by searching for your topic or by browsing popular topics.  See How to search Special Collections and University Archives finding aids for search tips.