Welcome
Welcome to the Peoria Campus of the University of Illinois College of Medicine!
This Guide is designed to help you find the information and resources that you need as a medical student on the Peoria campus. We hope that you find the information useful and that you will let us know what would make this Guide better.
Contact Us
Need help navigating the vast scholarly and clinical information landscape? Have citations without anyway to organize them? The Library of the Health Sciences can assist you!
Contact Us!
Phone: (309) 671-8490
Email: lib-pref@uic.edu
Visit us!
Library of the Health Sciences - Peoria
Second Floor
UICOMP Building
One Illini Drive, Peoria, IL 61656
Related Guides
Health & Safety
DynaMed & Isabel DDx
The Library of the Health Sciences is now providing the clinical tool DynaMed with Isabel. Created through a partnership with DynaMed and the ACP, this is an evidence-based clinical summary tools to use in medicine and nursing. In addition, the differential diagnosis generator ISABEL is included in this trial. With these two tools working together, it will support you through diagnosis to treatment.
Should you have any questions or comments on use of these clinical tools, email lib-pref@uic.edu or call 309-671-8490.
- DynaMedDynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again. - DynaMed with IsabelMedical information database of clinical topic summaries, including a grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Includes Isabel which is used by physicians to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis.
Note: If you get an authentication failed message, close your browser and try accessing the site again.
PubMed@UIC
Essential Medical Curriculum Resources
- Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy The Video Atlas was originally intended to be used by individual medical and dental students. Because of its realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, the Video Atlas has become popular with students and teachers in many other fields and also with people not on a professional learning path who are looking for information about human anatomy. Includes captions.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th edition Bates' visual guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. Bates' Visual Guide features Bates' physical examinations skills videos, as well as OSCE Clinical Skills videos. Includes captions.
- ClinicalKey ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts. Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified
- Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey Clinical Pharmacology now comes together with ClinicalKey, Elsevier’s intelligent clinical search engine, to enhance the user experience. Explore the enriched, intuitive interface, Smart Search technology for top speed to answers, deep access to trusted evidence, and quick finding of relevant data for optimal productivity at the point-of-care.
- DSM-V Library This is the newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). It includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5, and DSM-5 Legacy.
- DynaMed DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more. Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.
- DynaMed with Isabel Medical information database of clinical topic summaries, including a grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Includes Isabel which is used by physicians to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis. Note: If you get an authentication failed message, close your browser and try accessing the site again.
- Essential Evidence Plus Current answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. Can be downloaded to a hand-held device. Note: to have your email address added to the daily POEMs mailing list, contact your librarian.
- JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. Includes captions and transcripts.
- UpToDate UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions. Note: UpToDate will extend the reverification of individual account to 180 days effective 3/25/2020. Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted on campus or remote/mobile access to UpToDate, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC by logging in to your UpToDate account on campus or via remote VPN once every 90 days.
- VisualDX VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Note: users can also sign up for a FREE VisualDx Personal Account by clicking the Quick Registration Link below while on your institution Wi-Fi network or VPN. VisualDX Institutional Login Access provided courtesy of the College of Medicine.
RefWorks
- RefWorks (Legacy)RefWorks is an online bibliography management service that allows you to capture citations, store them, and use them while writing papers. As of June 2022, RefWorks accounts cannot be created in Legacy RefWorks. Patrons may create accounts or transfer citations into the New RefWorks or use another citation manager. Questions? Email ask-citehelp@uic.edu.
Please note: Legacy RefWorks accounts will no longer be available after June 30, 2023. We will provide further information about upgrading to the current version of RefWorks closer to that date.