Welcome
Welcome to the Peoria Campus of the University of Illinois College of Medicine!
This Guide is designed to help you find the information and resources that you need as a medical student on the Peoria campus. We hope that you find the information useful and that you will let us know what would make this Guide better.
Contact Us
Need help navigating the vast scholarly and clinical information landscape? Have citations without anyway to organize them? The Library of the Health Sciences can assist you!
Contact Us!
Phone: (309) 671-8490
Email: lib-pref@uic.edu
Visit us!
Library of the Health Sciences - Peoria
Second Floor
UICOMP Building
One Illini Drive, Peoria, IL 61605
Related Guides
Health & Safety
PubMed@UIC
Essential Medical Curriculum Resources
- Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy The Video Atlas was originally intended to be used by individual medical and dental students. Because of its realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, the Video Atlas has become popular with students and teachers in many other fields and also with people not on a professional learning path who are looking for information about human anatomy. Includes captions.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th edition
Bates' Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. Bates' Visual Guide features Bates' physical examinations skills videos, as well as OSCE Clinical Skills videos. Includes captions.
Tip: After clicking the link, select Library Continue as anonymous library user to access Bates' Visual Guide.
- ClinicalKey ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts. Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified
- Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey Comprehensive drug reference solution providing quick access to current, accurate and clinically-relevant drug information.
- DSM-V Library This is the newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). It includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5, and DSM-5 Legacy.
- Isabel Clinical Decision Support Physicians around the world use Isabel to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis. By entering the information normally captured in a patient workup, Isabel provides physicians with a list of possible diagnoses to help them construct their thinking and make an accurate final diagnosis quickly and easily at the point of care.
- Essential Evidence Plus Current answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. You must register for an account using your uic.edu email in order to access Essential Evidence Plus.
- JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window Evidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. Includes captions and transcripts.
- UpToDate UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.
- VisualDX VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.Note: users can also sign up for a FREE VisualDx Personal Account by clicking the Quick Registration Link below while on your institution Wi-Fi network or VPN. VisualDX Institutional Login Access provided courtesy of the College of Medicine.
RefWorks
The new version of RefWorks has increased capabilities like importing pdf documents and a Google docs add-on. For more information, see our RefWorks page.
