UIC's Health Sciences Libraries
The Librarians located at the UIC Library of the Health Sciences locations are available to support you through your educational experience at the UIC College of Medicine. If you have questions about resources or need assistance locating information, please get in contact with us. Feel free to email, call (numbers below), or chat with us for help with your questions.
Textbooks
UIC Guides and Tutorials
- Health Sciences GatewayA gateway to resources for all health sciences disciplines, including research databases, clinical tools, and reference resources.
- UIC Mobile Medicine GuideThis guide introduces medical resources available for your mobile device and provides news and information for the mobile user.
- Access Suite TutorialThis tutorial, created by the UIC Library, shows you how to create a My Access account and introduces some of the best study features.
Library Toolbox
Find books and more with UIC Library Search:
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested by selecting All I-Share Libraries.
Find full text
Search for E-journals, Magazines, Newspapers or E-books
links to full text information from within library database results.
My Account
Connect to My Account in UIC Library Search.
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.
RefWorks
Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with
Databases
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files. - ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.
Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified - PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
Clinical Tools
- Electronic Preventive Services Selector from USPSTFePSS is an app to help physicians find appropriate screenings for their specific patients. Created by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), the tool searches US Preventive Services Task Force recommendations.
- Essential Evidence PlusCurrent answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. You must register for an account using your uic.edu email in order to access Essential Evidence Plus.
- VisualDX
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.
Note: users can also sign up for a FREE VisualDx Personal Account by clicking the Quick Registration Link below while on your institution Wi-Fi network or VPN. VisualDX Institutional Login
Access provided courtesy of the College of Medicine. - UpToDate
UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.
Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM)
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration - JAMAevidence This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. Includes captions and transcripts.
- PubMed Clinical Queries"This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics." [National Library of Medicine]
- Trip Pro
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS
Anatomy
- Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
The Video Atlas was originally intended to be used by individual medical and dental students. Because of its realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, the Video Atlas has become popular with students and teachers in many other fields and also with people not on a professional learning path who are looking for information about human anatomy. Includes captions.
Pharmacology
- AccessPharmacy
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
- Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKeyComprehensive drug reference solution providing quick access to current, accurate and clinically-relevant drug information.
- Medical LetterIndependent, critical evaluations of drugs for physicians and other health professionals. Also Adverse Drug Interactions system and Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy.
- Micromedex Red BookThe library and hospital have separate licenses to Micromedex. The library license is bundled with and dependent on Red Book demand.
Patient Education
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information including reference books, reports and pamphlets, drug information and more.
- MEDLINEPlusConsumers' health information produced by the National Library of Medicine that is authoritative and up to date.
Additional Key Resources
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)The AHRQ is a federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of the United States healthcare system.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th editionBates' visual guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. Bates' Visual Guide features Bates' physical examinations skills videos, as well as OSCE Clinical Skills videos. Includes captions.
- Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- ICE Video LibraryProvides powerful streaming video collections of real patients and therapists in occupational therapy and physical therapy programs. Videos are available 24/7 for in-class or online teaching.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access ICE Learning Videos.
Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=973
MacOS : https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=904
Linux: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=910
Android: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=954
IOS https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=964 - NatMed Pro
Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.
- Smith’s Patient-Centered Interviewing: An Evidence-Based Method, 4th editionElectronic textbook outlining the steps necessary to conduct an effective and efficient biopsychosocial (BPS) interview.
- Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide, 4th editionElectronic textbook focused on learning the diagnostic process.