Using Databases to Find Journal Articles
The databases and indexes listed on this page can be helpful when conducting research on theatre, theatre history, or for dramaturgy. Consider using search terms such as "theatre history," "the history of theatre," or a specific time period or location you are interested in focusing on.If you can't find what you need, check out other pages on this guide for additional resources and don't hesitate to ask a librarian!
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
Note: to watch the video on how to search, go to MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO - Project Muse
Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Featuring full-text articles plus abstracting and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, Art Full Text is a useful database for art students and art historians. It covers many topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, film and architecture. The database also includes Art Index Retrospective which covers index from 1929-1984.
- JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
- Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online is a digital reference shelf of topical encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries with emphasis on Literature and Western Civilization . Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Books on General Theatre History
The library has many books on theatre history. Use the search box on the library homepage to find books in the field of theatre. You might consider search terms such as "theatre history," "the history of theatre," or a specific time period or location you are interested in focusing on.
Listed below are just a few selected texts from the library catalog.
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama by Call Number: PN1861 .C65 2007ISBN: 0231140320Publication Date: 2007-07-03
The Cambridge Companion to African American Theatre by Call Number: PN2270.A35 C36 2013ISBN: 9781107017122Publication Date: 2012-10-25
Early Modern Theatre and the Figure of Disability by Call Number: PN2270.A35D532008ISBN: 9781350017207Publication Date: 2018
Academic Journals
While UIC's databases can help you search across a variety of at once, it is sometimes helpful to go straight to the source. Below are just some of the Journals related to theatre, theatre history, and performance available through UIC.
Historical Newspapers & Magazines
Newspapers and Magazines can be helpful resource for learning about the context and current events that were taking place during the time in which a play is set. They can provide images for reference and inspiration for production design (costumes, set design, etc). Historical newspapers are also good sources for finding reviews and theatre criticism, which help us understanding how the play was received at the time it was originally produced.
Listed here are a handful of databases that you can use to find historical newspaper articles.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text PDF articles from several major U.S. newspapers including: Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and Washington Post.
- The Times (London) Digital Archive
Complete digital archives of The Times (1785-1985). May not be compatible with Mozilla Firefox.
- World Newspaper Archive
A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries. UIC's subscription includes: America's Historical Newspapers and Latin American Newspapers.
- Vogue ArchiveThe Vogue Archive contains the backfile of Vogue magazine (US edition), spanning the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Current articles from ethnic-focused news groups worldwide.
- Chicago Sun-Times Historical Archive, 1929-1985Research Chicago history through the Chicago Sun-Times Historical Archive. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical full newspaper pages from 1929 through 1985.