Theatre and Performance: Art, Design, and Finding Images

The Bridgeman Archive contains about 47,000 images, obtained from museum, art gallery and artist collections throughout the world, all rights cleared for educational use. Featured works include design, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artifacts, maps, architecture, and more. (Access through Credo Reference).

Single access point for millions of items from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Browse and search collections by timeline, map, and faceted search; explore digital exhibitions and more.

About 4600 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum available in high resolution, including paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities and sculpture and decorative arts. The Getty plans to make available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds all the rights or that are in the public domain, to be used for any purpose.

Artworks by more than 6,000 artists, with more than 45,000 objects viewable in ultra high resolution.

Images from the Museum of the City of New York; includes images from Broadway and other theatre.

Explore 861,907 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

The museum's Department of Architecture and Design features a collection of 250,000 objects grounded in works by Frank Lloyd Wright, Mies van der Rohe, and Le Corbusier. The diverse holdings also include works by cutting-edge designers including Hella Jongerius, Konstantin Grcic, Stefan Sagmeister, and Joris Laarman.

Maintained by The Society of Typographic Arts, with the goal making accessible the best design work of those practicing in the Chicago area. Covers 1927 to the present; searchable by designer, firm, client and more.

Links to resources from arts-related organizations, Chicago-based organizations, and beyond.

Searchable collection of more than 6.1 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts. The Smithsonian is the umbrella for 19 museums, including the National Museum for African American HIstory and Culture.

Backfiles of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar from 1867 to the present.

Searchable archive of American Vogue, from 1892 to the current month. Includes advertisements, covers and fold-outs.

From its launch in 1964 to the present.

Issues from the magazine's launch in 1910 to recent issues (6 month embargo on new issues).

Explore and experiment blending colors virtually using the Golden Paint palette.

ArchDaily is a website that provides architectural news, updates on new projects, products, and events, and a variety of images that can serve as design and aesthetic inspiration.

From the website: "See nature images of lightning, sunsets, Samburu elephants, colorful frogs, a bold ladybug, from National Geographic"

Note: you may need to provide an email address to access the photo gallery.

Find inspiration from stock photos and other images available across the internet. Consider searching for "brick wall" or "colors" or "nature photos" or "urban landscape" to begin seeking design inspiration. Don't forget to cite all images you use when necessary.