Welcome!
Welcome to the research guide for Theatre at UIC! Whether you are an Actor looking for your next monologue, a Costume Designer looking for images and inspiration, or a Theatre Historian working on a paper, this guide is designed to be a starting point for finding the tools and information you need.
Theatre at UIC
Visit the School of Theatre and Music's website to learn more about this year's theatre season and UIC's theatre degree programs.
Faculty Publications
This list represents only a small selection of works related to theatre and performance studies written by UIC faculty.
Performing Commedia Dell'Arte, 1570-1630 by Call Number: PQ4155 .S36 2020ISBN: 9780367085650Publication Date: 2019-10-09
Shakespeare, Dissent and the Cold War by Call Number: PR3017 .T48 2014ISBN: 9781137438942Publication Date: 2014-08-22
Dramatic Justice: trial by theater in the age of the French Revolution by Call Number: PN2633 .R63 2019ISBN: 9780812250756Publication Date: 2018-11-09
General Theatre Resources
The library has many books on theatre and acting, as well as books of plays and individual playscripts. Use the search box on the library homepage to find books in the field of theatre. Listed below are just a few selected texts.
The Routledge Companion to African American Theatre and Performance by Call Number: PN2969 .A4753 2011ISBN: 9781138726710Publication Date: 2019
Freak Performances: Dissidence in Latin American Theater by Call Number: PR3091 .S365ISBN: 9780472073917Publication Date: 2018-10-15
Diversifying Greek Tragedy on the Contemporary US Stage by Call Number: PN2671 .H57 2006ISBN: 9780198777359Publication Date: 2018-10-16
The Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical Theater by ISBN: 1573441988Publication Date: 2004-11-24
Undergraduate Research in Theatre: a guide for students by ISBN: 1003023800Publication Date: 2021-07-13
Stagecraft Fundamentals: a guide and reference for theatrical production by ISBN: 1136084770Publication Date: 2012-09-10
- Drama Online
Drama Online is an award-winning digital library of nearly 4,000 playtexts, over 700 hours of video, over 400 audio plays, and over 500 books of criticism and performance practice from leading theatre publishers and companies. UIC subscribes to the Core Collection and Critical Studies & Performance Practice.
- American TheatreAmerican Theatre delivers exclusive online-only content in addition to stories found in print, including breaking news in the theatre field, video coverage of live events, podcasts, play texts, and more.
- IBDB | The Official Source For Broadway InformationThe official database for Broadway theater information. Provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theater to present
- Film Scripts OnlineThe Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film and television books, articles, reviews, essays, and more.
- Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
- Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online is a digital reference shelf of topical encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries with emphasis on Literature and Western Civilization . Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Ebook Central
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
Librarian
Consultations
I am available to assist with research needs on an individual basis. Please feel free to email me and I am happy to schedule a time with you. Consults can be done in person, via zoom or email.
Citing Sources
Citing your sources is a way to give credit when quotes, ideas, or inspiration you use came from another source. The Library's Citation and Style Guide can help you get started on using proper citations in your work and projects.
UIC Writing Center
Writing is one of the most important skills that students take away from college. To help students learn about writing, UIC offers a special free resource, a peer writing center, where students work with other students to improve as writers. Visit the UIC Writing Center website for more information or to schedule an appointment.
About this Guide
This guide was co-written with graduate assistant, Sarah Rebecca Gaglio, MSLIS.