Selected Books on Set, Scenic, and Props Design
Scenography Expanded: An Introduction to Contemporary Performance Design by ISBN: 9781474244411Publication Date: 2017-06-29
The Craft and Art of Scenic Design: strategies, concepts, and resources by ISBN: 1138937649Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Creative and Successful Set Designs: how to make imaginative stage sets with limited resources by ISBN: 1620236087Publication Date: 2018-09-28
Prop Building for Beginners: twenty props for stage and screen by ISBN: 0429350821Publication Date: 2021-04-18
The Properties Director's Handbook: managing a prop shop for theatre by ISBN: 0203066383Publication Date: 2012-12-12
Art and Design: Online Resources
- Art Institute of Chicago - Design CollectionsThe museum's Department of Architecture and Design features a collection of 250,000 objects grounded in works by Frank Lloyd Wright, Mies van der Rohe, and Le Corbusier. The diverse holdings also include works by cutting-edge designers including Hella Jongerius, Konstantin Grcic, Stefan Sagmeister, and Joris Laarman.
- Chicago Design ArchiveMaintained by The Society of Typographic Arts, with the goal making accessible the best design work of those practicing in the Chicago area. Covers 1927 to the present; searchable by designer, firm, client and more.
- Anti-racist Resources - UIC Gallery 400Links to resources from arts-related organizations, Chicago-based organizations, and beyond.
- Smithsonian Museum collectionsSearchable collection of more than 6.1 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts. The Smithsonian is the umbrella for 19 museums, including the National Museum for African American HIstory and Culture.
Primary Source Research for Designers
Primary Sources, like photos or newspaper clippings or even advertisements, can be great resources for designers in search of visual inspiration. Visit the Primary Sources for Artists page of this guide for links to databases that can connect you to a number of helpful primary sources.
Inspiration & Visual Ideas
- Golden Paints Virtual Paint MixerExplore and experiment blending colors virtually using the Golden Paint palette.
- Arch DailyArchDaily is a website that provides architectural news, updates on new projects, products, and events, and a variety of images that can serve as design and aesthetic inspiration.
- National Geographic: Nature PhotosFrom the website: "See nature images of lightning, sunsets, Samburu elephants, colorful frogs, a bold ladybug, from National Geographic"
Note: you may need to provide an email address to access the photo gallery. - Google ImagesFind inspiration from stock photos and other images available across the internet. Consider searching for "brick wall" or "colors" or "nature photos" or "urban landscape" to begin seeking design inspiration. Don't forget to cite all images you use when necessary.
Professional Resources
- United Scenic ArtistsUnited Scenic Artists, Local USA 829, IATSE, is a labor union and professional association of Designers, Artists, Craftspeople, and Department Coordinators, organized to protect craft standards, working conditions and wages for the entertainment and decorative arts industries. The members of Local USA 829 work in film, theatre, opera, ballet, television, industrial shows, commercials and exhibitions.
- IATSEThe labor union representing technicians, artisans and craftspersons in the entertainment industry, including live theatre, film and television production.