Find items in UIC Library collections, including books, articles, databases and more.
Find items on the UIC Library website, including research guides, help articles, events and website pages.
Publications of the American Chemical Society.
To find books by title, author, or subject, search our Library Catalog.
Most books at the Library of the Health Sciences are shelved by the National Library of Medicine Classification system. Books written specifically for forensic sciences are usually classified "W". Here is a select list of where you can find books related to forensic sciences:
AccessAnesthesiology features hundreds of trusted anesthesiology resources, including books, review questions, cases, videos, study tools, and more.
AccessEmergency Medicine is a collection of emergency medicine resources including videos, cases, review questions, and books including Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine and Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies.
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files.
AccessPediatrics provides access to text books, atlases, videos, and other resources related to pediatrics, information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review. Includes captions. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
AccessPhysiotherapy is a collection of physical therapy learning resources featuring hundreds of books, videos, cases, NPTE prep resources, review questions, PTA board review, instructor resources and more.
Comprehensive online surgery resource aimed at medical students. Includes access to leading surgical textbooks, such as Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery and Zollinger’s Atlas of Surgical Operations.
ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.
Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
Current Protocols provides access to the large collection of authoritative, peer-reviewed, regularly-updated research methods and topical overviews in the life sciences. In January 2021, the publisher merged all individual legacy protocol titles into a new title, Current Protocols. The UIC Library only subscribes to:
Current Protocols in Immunology
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
The archives for both sections can be accessed by selecting Browse Articles and clicking on Issue Archive.
This is the newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). It includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5, and DSM-5 Legacy.
The collection has previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. They include DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
UIC students now have access to over 40 different graduate admissions, licensure and credentialing exams and skills development courses from Kaplan. Prepare for the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, NCLEX-RN, USMLE, Illinois State bar exam, real estate and securities exams, and more at no cost through the Prepare for Illinois’ Future Powered by Kaplan’s All Access License program.
Available to students at these 17 institutions across Illinois. Select University of Illinois Chicago under Find Your Institution, then create an account using your UIC email address.
Supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, explore careers, join the military, study for occupational certification tests, become a U.S. citizen, and much more. Contains practice tests, interactive tutorials, e-books, articles, and flashcards.
Contains select titles on neuroscience, biology and public health and epidemiology from Oxford's publishing program.
Growing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
The Video Atlas was originally intended to be used by individual medical and dental students. Because of its realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, the Video Atlas has become popular with students and teachers in many other fields and also with people not on a professional learning path who are looking for information about human anatomy. Includes captions.
Go to the Health Sciences Databases page or the UIC Library Database A to Z list for additional databases.
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
Coverage of criminal justice and substance abuse. From 1968 to present.
Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.
IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.
Note: If you're unable to set up an IEEE account, go to the IEEE Xplore website. After creating an account, return here and use the Library's link to sign in.
New version of Lexis Nexis Academic. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and full-text law review articles. See the Newspapers Research Guide for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations and additional life sciences books and databases. From mid-1960s to present.
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. You must also connect to SciFinder-n via a UIC IP address on campus, or through the UIC VPN or the above proxy link.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
INDIGO, provided and maintained by the Library, offers open access to the intellectual work of UIC faculty.
Note: Access to some dissertations may be restricted at the discretion of the author or publisher.
Provides downloadable doctoral dissertations originating from universities in the Big Ten conference from 1997 to present. More dissertations from other North American and European universities are available for preview and individual purchase.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
Go to the Health Sciences Databases page or the UIC Library Database A to Z list for additional databases.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.