It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
Find journals and books in social sciences, humanities, science, medicine, technology and more.
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including more than 3,630 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, Academic Search Premier abstracts and indexes all 8,000+ journals included in the collection. This database offers articles and scholarly monographs in nearly every area of academic study including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Coverage of criminal justice and substance abuse. From 1968 to present.
Subject coverage from 1968 to present includes:
* Adult Corrections
* Behavioral Science
* Courts and the Legal Process
* Crime, the Offender & the Victim
* Crime Prevention & Control Strategies
* Economic & Political Sciences
* Juvenile Justice & Delinquency
* Social Work
* Substance Abuse
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.
EMBASE is an abstract and indexing database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. It currently contains more than 15 million records from Excerpta Medica Database (1974 to present) and selected Medline records (1966-present). Currently the Library does not own the archives of Embase from 1947 to 1973.
Also known as IEEE Electronic Library, this database provides full-text access to a wide range of technology and engineering materials: transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; and all current IEEE Standards.
New version of Lexis Nexis Academic. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and full-text law review articles. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.
National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 12 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations and additional life sciences books and databases. From mid-1960s to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Now called APA PsychINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
Platform for a wide variety of journals and e-books across all fields of natural sciences, applied sciences and technology, and social sciences. To facilitate the browsing of titles, we have also organized ScienceDirect according to subject area (See below).
Note: Effective January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer.
ScienceDirect is an electronic information service for a wide variety of journals and e-books across all fields of natural sciences, applied sciences and technology, and social sciences.
CAS SciFinder Scholar is the premier chemistry database produced by the American Chemical Society.
CAS SciFinder Scholar is the premier chemistry database produced by the American Chemical Society. It contains structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, properties, single- and multiple-step chemical reactions. UIC users also have access to the Substructure Module.
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. For more information on switching to SciFinder-N see Chemistry Subject Guide
Scopus contains over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide with 49 million records, 78% with abstracts. It Includes over 5.3 million conference papers and provides 100% Medline coverage with interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys,
Access to the Web of Science Core Collection which is the largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
The Web of Science, provided by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) a division of Thomson Reuters, is an index of current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from 1975 on. The bibliographic records from approximately 8,700 high impact research journals are mostly linked to full-text articles.
INDIGO provided by the UIC Library
Free access to the intellectual work of UIC is provided through INDIGO, the repository of intellectual property in digital form available online in an open environment.
Provides downloadable doctoral dissertations originating from universities in the Big Ten conference from 1997 to present. More dissertations from other North American and European universities are available for preview and individual purchase. This is the new platform for Dissertations & Theses. All CSA and ProQuest databases will be migrated to this platform.
Dissertations and Theses contains full text of doctoral dissertations from universities in the Big Ten conference (Committee on Interinstitutional Cooperation or CIC) from 1997 to present. Further, D&T provides free 24-page previews for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. The non-CIC materials are available for individual purchase.
This resource includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day. It includes abstracts dating back to 1980, and access to the full text of many dissertations from 1997 (and sometimes earlier) to present.
As well as the author written abstracts for doctoral dissertations published since July 1980 and Master’s theses published since 1988, PQDT – A&I includes 24-page previews of dissertations and theses where available. With scholarly research content in every subject, PQDT is a multi-disciplinary resource that supports all academic departments and disciplines.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
HeinOnline is offering this new collection of materials free of charge to U.S. Core subscribers, academics, and other institutional libraries in order to provide a platform for research on the myriad issues related to gun regulation.
Archives of social science data for research and instruction.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.
Database produced at the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress) is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to a wide range of literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, including works in psychiatry, psychology, social work, criminology, and law.