Diasporic and Transnational Studies
Diasporic and Transnational Theme
This theme emphasizes the black experience outside of a United States context; some will be specific to global settings, others will look at overlaps and exchanges between the U.S. and international locales such as in the study of transatlantic slavery or immigration.
Journal Databases
- Ethnographic Video OnlineContains a wide range of ethnographic documentaries, indigenous media, field notes, study guides and raw footage, covering human behavior.
- Race Relations AbstractsPublication of the Institute on Race Relations, (U.K.) from 2000 to present.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Anthropology PlusCitations to articles in anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, bringing together Anthropological Literature from Harvard and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK.
- ProQuest History Vault: Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 3Consists of collections selected from the holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. These collections represent rice, cotton, and sugar plantations in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Arkansas. Major collections include Cameron Family Papers, and Pettigrew Family Papers. Trial ends September 2023.
Multiracial and Multiethnic Sources
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesBibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
- Clase and Periodica Index of Latin American JournalsLatin American journals specializing in social sciences, humanities, science and technology.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with in-depth coverage from 1970 to the present. This resource was acquired with funds from the Library/IT Assessment.
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesSelected works on social sciences and the humanities in Latin America (1936 to present).