Subject and Course Guides: Black Studies: Finding Journal Articles

Using Databases to Find Journal Articles

Black Studies is an interdisciplinary field of scholarship. Due to its interdisciplinary nature, you will find scholarship and sources for the field are indexed in a wide range of databases. The databases listed below are a great starting point when conducting research in African American Studies, but they are not the only databases to find information. In each of the theme tabs you will find additional databases to try based on your research needs.

If you cannot find what you need by using this guide, do not hesitate ask a librarian!

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
America: History and Life
America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.

America: History and Life is a resource for a variety of disciplines, including:

* History
* American Studies
* Anthropology
* Genealogy
* Interdisciplinary Studies
* Literature/Folklore
* Multicultural Studies
* Popular Culture
* Sociology
* Women's Studies/Gender Studies
* History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch covers a broad range of publications both of general interest and of scholarly merit. Most of its content dates from the 1990s.
The general categories of ethnic groups represented in the Ethnic NewsWatch database are:
*African American/Caribbean/African
*Arab/Middle Eastern
*Asian/Pacific Island
*European/Eastern European
*Hispanic
*Jewish
*Multi-ethnic
*Native People
GenderWatch
GenderWatch covers a broad range of publications both of general interest and of scholarly merit. Most of its content dates from the 1990s.
This is a full text database that focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Databases Continued

Historical Abstracts
Historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
Published since 1954, this database has long been recognized as among the leading bibliographies for historical study of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
JSTOR
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
Note: to watch the video on how to search, go to MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
Project Muse
Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Project MUSE® offers more than 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Race Relations Abstracts
Publication of the Institute on Race Relations, (U.K.) from 2000 to present.
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
Publication of the Institute on Race Relations, a society active in the U.K. Contains bibliographic essays and cross-referenced indexes of articles in journal literature, books and websites on the topic of race relations. Dates of publication: 2000 to present.
Sociological Abstracts
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Black Studies: Finding Journal Articles

Using Databases to Find Journal Articles

Databases Continued

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library