Race, Politics, and Institutions
Race, Politics, and Institutions Theme
Journal Databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
ATLA indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
- Criminal Justice AbstractsCoverage of criminal justice and substance abuse. From 1968 to present.
- Education Research CompleteSearch Education Research Complete in EBSCOhost.
- Social Services Abstracts (1979 - current)
Provides current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - current)Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
- ProQuest History Vault: Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 3Consists of collections selected from the holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. These collections represent rice, cotton, and sugar plantations in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Arkansas. Major collections include Cameron Family Papers, and Pettigrew Family Papers. Trial ends September 2024.
Databases Continued
- Nexis UniNew version of Lexis Nexis Academic. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and full-text law review articles. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.
- Ebony Magazine ArchiveEbony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
- ProQuest Congressional Publications
ProQuest Congressional Publications includes Congressional hearings, reports, and documents and the U.S. Serials Set and the American State Papers as well as the Congressional Record and its predecessors. Coverage begins in 1789 and is most complete through 1969. See also U.S. Congressional Serials Set.
- Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS Index)
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, surveys, research and statistical series published by Congress and Federal executive agencies; compiled under directive of the Congress.
Note: Also includes ProQuest Congressional Record - Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Additional Tools
- Segregation by Designsing historic aerial photography, this ongoing project aims to document the destruction of communities of color due to red-lining, “urban renewal,” and freeway construction. Through a series of stark aerial before-and-after comparisons, figure-ground diagrams, and demographic data, this project will reveal the extent to which the American city was methodically hollowed out based on race. The project will cover the roughly 180 municipalities which received federal funding from the 1956 Federal Highway Act, which created the interstate highway system.