We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
Register for three accounts that will help you in research -
1. ILLIAD - for interlibrary loans of articles that are not available as full text electronically or in print at LHS. LHS delivery is rapid and you may have your article as soon as 1-2 days!
Sign up at: https://proxy.cc.uic.edu/login?url=https://uic.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/illiad.dll
You will need your I-Card number, which starts with 28198 or 20111 - you only need to fill out the first page - don't worry about the account information page.
2. RefWorks - the citation management database can be accessed online from anywhere.
a. Sign-up at: https://www.refworks.com/refworks2/default.aspx?r=authentication::init&groupcode=RWUIllChicago
The RefWorks Group Code may be needed for when you working off campus. You will need to login with your NETID and password to get the group code.
b. Familiarize yourself with the RefWork's tutorials page at LHS http://researchguides.uic.edu/content.php?pid=74619&sid=552483
These tutorials are well worth the time and provide an introduction to the many time-saving features associated with using RefWorks to manage your citations and write your papers using Write-N-Cite.
c. Next, view an introductory video on RefWorks at UIC (this is the first tutorial on the guide) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QcDdiI6mUyY&feature=youtu.be
3. MYNCBI - PubMed's online bibliographic management system and more - use it to save collections, searches, bibliographies....
a. Sign-up at: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/account/?
b. Watch the tutorial on MYNCBI for an Overview http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ks46w3mNAQE
1. a. Read about the "Find It @ UIC" button.
The "Find it @ UIC" button only appears if you have entered the database (e.g., PubMed) via the LHS library gateway. This button links you to the electronic full-text of an article if it is available. When you begin your database search via the LHS webpages, look for this icon in your search results! If you are in PubMed and do not see this button, you probably did not enter PubMed through the LHS website.
If the article is not available electronically through the library's subscriptions, you will be presented with this message - "Article is not available in electronic format."
To request a scan of a full-text article via interlilbrary loan, scroll down the page to ILLIAD's link "Library of the Health Sciences Chicago and Distance Ed"
The information required to process the interlibrary loan should populate the form automatically if you access ILLIAD from the Distance Ed link.
Interlibrary loan often takes as little as 1-2 days. A message is sent to your UIC email that your article has arrived. Login to ILLIAD at https://uic.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/IAX/illiad.dll?Action=99.-- After logging into ILLIAD, look on the left-sidebar look for the link labelled "Electronically Received Articles."
2. a. Watch a brief video, in which Ryan Rafferty demonstrates the use of the "Find it @ UIC" button and ILLIAD in the context of PubMed search http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/lhs/resources/guides/pubmed/searching_pubmed_2_demo.htm
b. Watch a brief video, in which Rebecca Raszewski demonstrates the ILLIAD registration, the "Find It @ UIC" button, and the interlibrary loan process in the context of a CINAHL database search http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/lhsc/demos/CINAHL/articles_need_ordering.swf
Boolean Operators are words used in searching databases to control how sets of results are/or are not combined. Boolean Operators include
AND OR NOT
The Boolean operator - AND - intersects concept sets, returning search results that reflect articles which address both concepts. If AND is used, then any article which addresses only one concept will not be included in the search results.
The Boolean operator - OR - unifies concept sets, returning search results that include articles if at least one concept is present. The Boolean operator - OR - will always expand search results.
The Boolean operator - NOT - will exclude articles if the NOT concept is present - do not use the NOT operator without giving it great thought because it is easy to "throw the baby out with the bath water" - in other words, to inadvertently discard articles you may want to look at because the NOT concept term is incidentally present and mixed in with concepts you do want to retrieve.
View the following tutorial by the USF Polytechnic Library, which relies on visualizations to introduce simple and complex usage of Boolean Operators: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1LpTbzSKd0
View Emily Mazure's tutorial, which quickly introduces you to the uses of Boolean Operators in searching: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffw70AU9pc0
12. The 5 Tips for Searching PubMed tutorial by Duke University Medical Center Library demonstrates a patient safety topic search in PubMed - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wWeeCBBlk4
This tutorial explores the patient safety search using 3 key concepts –
1) Health care workers 2) Influenza vaccine 3) Patient infection
Sign in to your MYNCBI account. Return to the PubMed homepage. Please duplicate the Duke search in PubMed by following all of the steps in the tutorial exactly as shown - this is a challenge. Show your work via snip/screenshots in your Assignment Document.
Begin by finding the PubMed home screen through the LHS Library website http://researchguides.uic.edu/c.php?g=252191 - scroll down under Research Databases until you find PubMed. Consider bookmarking the LHS Medicine homepage.
After completing the 3 separate searches for Health care workers, Influenza vaccine, and Infection (you will need to copy the Duke modification of the Health care worker term from the tutorial), go to the Advanced page using the Advanced link under the PubMed search box. Create a search that intersects all 3 concepts (use AND to join the concepts together in an intersecting relationship). Show a snip/screenshot of your work from the Advanced page with the combined 3-concept search.
Currently, the search recreation should bring you about 202 search results. Write the librarian if you are struggling with this. Also, an easy way to get it right is to make a snip of the screen that shows you Duke's Advanced search page - then you can see exactly how they did it.
13, View this tutorial for directions on using Filters and the Advanced page to complete the additional exercises: PubMed Advanced Search by the University of Michigan Library https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vtjrN752Occ
On the search results page for the combined search above, use the following filters to modify the search – English language, last 10 years, randomized controlled trials. You will have to use the “Customize” and “Show additional filters” links to see some of these filters before you can select and apply them. Remember that the filter is not applied until you see the blue checkmark. The search results are finally reduced to about 3 citations once all the filters have been added. Show your work with a snip/screenshot.
MYNCBI TUTORIALS - Very Brief!
MeSH Tutorial - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uyF8uQY9wys
Using Filters for PubMed Searching - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=696R9GbOyvA
Saving COLLECTIONS - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iXSttEKntCE (Note, if the Favorites icon does not show on the citation page, use the pull-down menu at Save Items).
Create Alerts (Save SEARCHES for future use as filters) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbFjV91YNNY
Keyword Searching (Details box, Advanced page) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEY1r_GDzcg
Advanced Search Page - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dncRQ1cobdc
COLLECTIONS in MYNCBI - create a new collection or move new citations to an existing collection -
CREATE ALERT / SAVE SEARCH - to save a search string and schedule e-mail updates -
CLIPBOARD - to place selected citations on an 8-hour clipboard associated with your IP address. This Clipboard can be edited, sent on to Collections, moved to RefWorks, or emailed.
REFWORKS - transfer citations from MYNCBI or PubMed to Refworks
Link to the UIC REFWORKS tutorial and citation management guides! http://researchguides.uic.edu/content.php?pid=74619&sid=552483
PUBMED (via the UIC LHS Chicago Gateway so that you are connected to all the proxy server identifications needed to access full text)
Clinical Queries - CQ is a valuable PubMed search interface that brings specialized filters to aid you in getting the highest levels of evidence for your patient oriented questions. An efficient way to search for answers to clinical questions is to identify when a key point of care resource such as DynaMed or UpToDate last reviewed a topic (and the age of the most central studies on which recommendations are based) and then customize your Clinical Queries search in relationship to that timeframe.
You can reach Clinical Queries from the PubMed entry page menu. You can simply enter a search string in natural language if you know that your terms will map to MeSH headings as well as keyword terms. If you are in the area of an evolving topic that has not been established in the MeSH vocabulary for a significant period of time, then you may want to make your search string more comprehensive. Once the search results are back, select the type of question (e.g., therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical prediction guidelines), and whether you want a broad or narrow filter. Note the link to the Haynes search filters at the bottom of the first column results to understand the sensitivity and specificity associated with each of the search filters broad/narrow dimensions. Select the link to the search results at the bottom of the first column to have your search registered in the MYNCBI home recent searches table.
PubMed has developed topic and subject filters that can enable robust searches in specific topics. These filters are helpful because it is difficult to identify all of the relevant terminology for a search each and every time. Although these filters are a great starting point, please don't assume that you cannot improve them. You can! You can also edit and customize them - adding and subtracting terms strategically for your particular search.
If you run the search using the subset field tag (e.g., survivors AND cancer[sb]), you will not see real underlying search string. To see the pre-fabricated search, select the link for the topic and drill down. The cancer search sting is several pages long!
On the PubMed Special Queries page, take a look at the Healthy People 2020 link. On the Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries page, select the link for Maternal, Infant, and Child Health. There are 33 searches on a variety of topics of interest to Pediatricians and Neonatalists.
Please follow the steps exactly in this exercise. You will be able to judge the correctness of your follow up by the results answers given at each step. Your aim is to duplicate these results exactly.
Remember that when you use the left-column filters in PubMed, sometimes a two-step process is required. For example, when choosing an Article Types filter, first you request to see the filters by pressing More under the Article Types section heading, then you select whatever article type you do want to see. Once the article type appears on the filter list, you have the option to select it. A check mark should then appear to indicate that this filter is set.
a. Enter PubMed via the LHS gateway and sign into your MYNCBI account.
b. In the search box, enter the following search string into the PubMed search box: ("2010/01/01"[Date - Completion] : "2014/05/19"[Date - Completion]) AND (patient safety and communication) Your results should be about 2,417 results.
c. Go to the Ages filter section. and select More. When the filters menu appears, select 80 and over: 80+ years
Your results should now be 89
d. Return to the Article Types filters and press More. Select the Comparative Study box and Show. When the Comparative Study option appears, select it.
Your results should now be 9
e. At the bottom of the column, select the Show Additional Filters link. Select Journal Categories and press Show. Select the Nursing Journals filter in the Journal Categories section.
Your results should now be 2. The PMIDs of the remaining articles are 22271215 and 19773144
f. Go to the Clear All link and select it.
Your results should now be 2,417 as before!
g. Under the PubMed search box, select the Advanced link. This link will show you the recent search history. Note, this history from the Advanced page is temporary. It follows the IP address of the physical computer and browser - it lasts 8 hours only.
Find the search with 89 results and select the number link itself. You should land back on the results page. Note, the age filter 80+ is applied to this set. Now, select Core Clinical Journals from the appropriate filter section.
Your results should now be 6.
h. Select Evaluation Studies from the Article Types Filters. (Remember select the More link and select the Evaluation Studies box, then press Show. Next, select this link and verify it by the check next to the study type).
Your results should now be 1.
i. Remember to Clear All your filters again!
Once you have completed steps a-i above - Using the Advanced page link (beneath the search box), go to recent search history and show a snip/screenshot of the searches above into your Assignment Document. If you have extra searches in the box, you can delete them by selecting the Search # (see the search column on the Advanced page) and choosing the Delete from History link. This is useful for cleaning up your record.