Legacy RefWorks Tutorials
- RefWorks Preview(Learn about RefWorks)
- Share Your RefWorks References(Learn how to make a specific folder publicly available with a static URL. Share the URL with friends and colleagues so they may see, print, and/or export the references you have found.)
RefWorks
Exporting Citations from a Database into Legacy RefWorks
Select below the database you are interested in to view how to import Citations from the database into RefWorks. Note: this tutorial focusses on the mechanics of exporting a citation from a database into Refworks, not effective methods for searching the individual databases.
- Cochrane Library Export to RefWorksUIC Library video tutorial
- EBSCOHost Direct Export(Academic Search Complete, Business Source Elite, CINAHL, ERIC, Health Source Nursing, AltHeath Watch, Communication and Mass Media Complete, Newspaper Source)
- Manually Entering ReferencesRefWorks help on manually adding a reference
- ProQuest Direct ExportVideo tutorial explaining how to export records from ProQuest databases to RefWorks.
- PubMed Export to RefWorksUIC Library video tutorial describing the download & importing process from PubMed to RefWorks.
- Scopus Direct ExportUIC Library video tutorial
Exporting Citations from a Database into Legacy RefWorks
Select below the database you are interested in to view how to import Citations from the database into RefWorks. Note: this tutorial focusses on the mechanics of exporting a citation from a database into Refworks, not effective methods for searching the individual databases.
- Cochrane Library Export to RefWorksUIC Library video tutorial
- EBSCOHost Direct Export(Academic Search Complete, Business Source Elite, CINAHL, ERIC, Health Source Nursing, AltHeath Watch, Communication and Mass Media Complete, Newspaper Source)
- Manually Entering ReferencesRefWorks help on manually adding a reference
- ProQuest Direct ExportVideo tutorial explaining how to export records from ProQuest databases to RefWorks.
- PubMed Export to RefWorksUIC Library video tutorial describing the download & importing process from PubMed to RefWorks.
- Scopus Direct ExportUIC Library video tutorial
Finding Full Text Articles Tutorials
Although these tutorials start from an Ebsco database, finding full text articles will work the same way from our other databases.
- Finding and Ordering Articles Through UIC LibraryUpdated 11/2023
This tutorial will show you how to access full text articles through UIC Library through an Illiad or Interlibrary Loan account.
Evidence-based Practice Tutorials
- MedicineNew Link! No download required!
Mobile Med @ UIC
Database Help Guides
- McGraw Hill Training GuidesGuides on how to use Access Medicine, Access Pharmacy, etc.
- OvidSP Databases Resource Center(MEDLINE via Ovid, ERIC, etc.)
PubMed Tutorials
- Using PubMed in Evidence Based PracticeThis 30 minute course from the National Library of Medicine will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed
- PubMed Online TrainingSeveral tutorials from the National Library of Medicine.
DynaMed Tutorials
- DynaMed@UICShort tutorial created in December 2013
Embase Tutorials
Getting Started with Web of Science
Essential Evidence Plus tutorials
- Essential Evidence Plus@UICShort tutorial created in December 2014
- Essential Evidence Plus Informational tutorialapproximately 2 minutes 30 seconds
- Introduction to Searching Essential Evidence Plusapproximately 2 minutes 50 seconds
Searching CINAHL Tutorials
These tutorials were created by Annie Nickum.
- Searching CINAHL Part OneOverview of CINAHL, keyword searches
Updated 08/23/21 - Searching CINAHL Part 2Advanced features: subject headings, advanced search, combining headings, saving searches
Updated 08/27/21