Clinical Queries
Select CLINICAL QUERIES under PubMed Tools.
PubMed Health
Clinical Trials
- Clinical Trials.govRegistry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.
Practice Guidelines
- Practice Guidelines in Primary CareFrom Access Medicine: CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, 2020 Ralph Gonzales, Jean S. Kutner
Patient Education
- Clinical Pharmacology - MedCounselor Fact SheetsEnglish & Spanish drug information for the patient
- Healthfinder.govInformation and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.
- Health Literacy Fact SheetsSeries of fact sheets on various aspects of health literacy.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is among the pre-eminent sources for finding patient education materials and many links to organizations for consumers.
- SALUDSpanish health education materials.
- UpToDateUpToDate has significant resources for patient education and teaching, including many visual aids.
Point of Care Resources Online - Recommended E-Resources
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.
Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified - DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
- DynaMed with IsabelMedical information database of clinical topic summaries, including a grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Includes Isabel which is used by physicians to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis.
Note: If you get an authentication failed message, close your browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
- Essential Evidence Plus
Essential Evidence Plus allows physicians to help keep current and answer clinical medicine questions at the point of care with the right information. A PDA version is available which includes Five Minute Clinical Consult. Podcasts of weekly InfoPOEMs are also available.
- NatMed ProAuthoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.
- Rehabilitation Reference Center
Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with available evidence for their information needs in the areas of Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.
- Trip ProTrip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS - UpToDateUpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App. - VisualDXVisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.
Note: users can also sign up for a FREE VisualDx Personal Account by clicking the Quick Registration Link below while on your institution Wi-Fi network or VPN. VisualDX Institutional Login
Access provided courtesy of the College of Medicine.
Drug Information
- AccessPharmacy
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
- Clinical PharmacologyClinical Pharmacology contains current, concise and clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs. Available for download from the Android/Apple app stores.
- Medical LetterIndependent, critical evaluations of drugs for physicians and other health professionals. Also Adverse Drug Interactions system and Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy.