It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or
All of the holdings of the library are in the catalog. This includes journals, books, databases, and more. Many users like to browse or search their favorite major collection for books in their specialty of interest. This page links to the major collections related to internal medicine in the box called "Major E-books Collections Related to Internal Medicine". Open a link to any of these collections and enter the subject specialty of interest into the search box.
Please contact the Information Services and Research department at https://library.uic.edu/contact with any consultation or appointments requests for the College of Medicine in Chicago.
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
AccessAnesthesiology is for certification in pain management, critical care, and perioperative medicine. Includes transcripts on all media and captions for everything except lectures. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
AccessEmergency Medicine is a complete online resource for medical education that allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases with videos, reference works, images, practice tests and curricular frameworks.
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
This is an online curricular resource designed for pharmacy education that contains 24 core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
Selected ebooks in medicine, nursing, pharmacology and anesthesiology.
Books@Ovid includes the full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics.
ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.
Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified
It is updated daily. Searches can be filtered by content type, by specialty, by time and relevance.
Provides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works.
The Rittenhouse Publishing R2 Library provides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works. The Library licenses two simultaneous users per book. After 15 minutes, your search session will expire, so you might want to create a login and save any results you need. You may print up to 10 sections or chapters per session. Do not attempt to download the entire contents of these books.
Recommended Books for Exams Study in Internal Medicine
Blueprints Medicine by Vincent Young; Davoren Chick; Allan H. Goroll; William A. Kormos
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Now fully revised and updated, this best-selling Blueprints title is an ideal resource for the internal medicine clerkship, USMLE review, and as a rapid reference in day-to-day patient care. Chapters are consistently organized to provide high-yield content on major disorders, including epidemiology, etiology, risk factors, history, physical examination, differential diagnosis, and treatment. Practical and concise, it includes student-friendly features such as bolded key words, useful tables and figures, and popular Key Points boxes with must-know clinical information. Blueprints Medicine provides a concise review of what students need to know in their rotations or for the boards, and follows the Clerkship Directors in Internal Medicine guidelines. The 6th Edition has been thoroughly updated to include new clinical guidelines and therapeutic recommendations, as well as new tables and figures. Students can assess their knowledge with a question-and-answer section at the end of the book that includes 100 board-format questions with complete rationales for each answer, as well as 50 additional questions online. Features: - Organized according to CDIM guidelines with updated content, tables, and figures. - Focuses on high-yield information, including clinical manifestations, differential diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment. - Emphasizes "must-know" information throughout, distilling the most important information in the end-of-chapter Key Points boxes. - Includes 100 board-formatted questions and rationales for each choice, as well as 50 additional questions online. - Small size makes it easy to carry and reference "on the go."
SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND IMPROVE PATIENT CARE Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately in providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files®: Internal Medicine provides 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in Internal Medicine. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files®, you'll learn instead of memorize. * Learn from 60 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions, and conveniently organized by related diagnosis * Master key concepts with clinical pearls * Cement your knowledge with 25 new integrated challenge questions * Polish your approach to clinical problem solving and to patient care * Perfect for medical students and physician assistant students
"Flashcards in a book" provide a comprehensive yet concise review for the internal medicine clerkship Maximum Retention -- Minimum Time Deja Review: Internal Medicine boils down your coursework to just the critical concepts you need to know for exam success. This unbeatable guide features a quick-read, two-column, "flashcard in a book" Q&A format. - specifically designed to help you remember a large amount of pertinent information in the least amount of time possible. The format allows you to zero-in on only the correct answers to promote memory retention and get the most out of your study time. Great for last minute review of high-yield facts, Deja Review provides a straightforward way for you to assess your strengths and weaknesses so you can excel on the clerkship and the USMLE Step 2 CK. Contents organized by system to easily test strengths and weaknesses Active recall questions allow you to understand, not just memorize the content Clinical vignettes at the end of chapters prepare you for board-style questions Portable size for study on the go - fits into your coat pocket Bookmark included to guide you through easy-to-use flashcard presentation
Images from the Wards: Diagnosis and Treatment is an exciting visual resource for in-training and practicing physicians. James Studdiford, Marc Altshuler, Brooke Salzman, and Amber Tully present this comprehensive, focused image-based reference and review for diagnosis and treatment with compelling images-selected from a large bank of medical pictures in a teaching database at Jefferson Medical College-that underscore important teaching points. These 517 high-yield images represent what you might see during clinical rotations and encounter on a certification exam. The book provides self-assessment and Board-style multiple choice questions and clinical correlations to prepare you for USMLE Steps 2 and 3. This is the most effective clinical resource and review tool for licensure or re-certification. Presents the most common and important clinical images of cases that you will encounter in a hospital or on a licensure or certification exam through 517 illustrations. Features self-assessment and Board-style multiple choice questions based on clinical vignettes to support the learning and review process. Provides concise but detailed clinical correlations to serve as an effective daily clinical resource and review for USMLE Steps 2 and 3, certification exams, or recertification. Covers the staging and variations of each disease through images that clarify the entire process. Captures each disease process in a consistent format for quick and effective reference and review.
The insider's guide to acing the internal medicine boards written by physicians who passed Apply the proven First Aid formula for exam success! New FULL-COLOR design! 5 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "I wish I had this book when I was studying for my boards. It is well worth the price for both study for the boards and for a quick reference." -- Doody's Review Service (reviewing a previous edition) Perfect for last minute review as well as recertification, First Aid for the Internal Medicine Boards delivers the high-yield information, mnemonics, and visual aids need for exam success. The third edition is distinguished by a new full-color presentation, new integrated mini-cases that put clinical information in context, more algorithms and tables comparing and contrasting diseases and disorders with similar presentations, and valuable clinical pearls. All content is based on the most recently adminstered in-service and board exams so you know you are studying the most relevant, up-to-date material possible. A complete one-stop review of the most frequently tested topics NEW full-color design NEW integrated mini-cases prepare you for what you will see on exam day Insider tips and study strategies for outstanding performance Hundreds of high-yield tables, diagrams, and illustrations Key Facts in the margin notes reinforce must-know information Mnemonics make learning and memorization fast, fun, and easy Great as a refresher for recertification
Written primarily for third- and fourth-year medical students in clerkships, Medicine Recall, Fourth Edition covers the core specialty areas within internal medicine: cardiology, pulmonology, nephrology, gastroenterology, hematology, oncology, infectious disease, endocrinology, allergy and immunology, rheumatology, neurology, and dermatology. The book is written in the rapid-fire Recall Series question-and-answer format, with the question on the left side of the page and the answer on the right. Mnemonics are interspersed throughout. Each chapter is written by faculty, students, and fellows and emphasizes diagnosis and treatment.
Gain fast, easy visual access to the problems most often encountered in practice! This resource combines hundreds of exquisite Netter images - including several new paintings created especially for this book - with concise summaries of the most current medical thinking on common diseases/conditions, diagnostics, treatments, and protocols - for a single easy-to-use quick-reference guide. Instructive and memorable Netter plates provide a rich visual understanding of every concept. The result is a superb source for ongoing clinical reference as well as patient and staff education. Offers quick access to expert medical thinking on common diseases/conditions, diagnostics, treatments, and protocols. Presents more than 500 exquisite illustrated plates by master illustrator Frank H. Netter and other artists working in the Netter tradition to enhance your understanding of the material. Presents nearly 40 new chapters, many expanded chapters, and several new images to reflect the state of internal medicine today-including increasingly common issues like bariatric surgery and posttraumatic stress syndrome. Offers more tables and algorithms for enhanced "at-a-glance" guidance. Features annotated citations for additional resources, including websites and other key sources for practice guidelines and patient education and support. Presents annotated evidence from key studies that have shaped the current standard of care.