Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or
Study, Citation, & Exam Guides
Citation and Style Help Guide
This Guide is intended to provide assistance with APA, MLA, and AMA styles. The Guide provides links to the basic information you need to know when using the APA, MLA, or AMA format for your bibliography.
Exam Study Guide
This study guide is designed to help students in medical school, nursing school, and other allied health science programs prepare for upcoming standard tests such as the USMLE Step 1.
Health Sciences Tutorials and Instructionl Guide
These online tutorials were created by UIC librarians to provide quick and ready assistance with our online databases (PubMed, EMBASE, CINAHL, Web of Science), information technology (google docs, RSS feeds), bibliographic managment databases (RefWorks, Endnote), and scholarly communications (your intellectual property & copyright retention).
RefWorks, EndNote, & Reference Manager
Refworks, Endnote, Endnote Web, and Reference Manager are citation management programs. They allow you to:
•Gather references from article databases and library catalogs
•Create and organize a personal database of citations related to your research (often including images and PDFs)
•Generate bibliographies and format manuscripts in a variety of citation styles (MLA, APA, AMA, etc.)
•Transfer references between RefWorks, EndNote Web, EndNote