Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

RefWorks and Other Citation Management Tools

Citation Management Program Help Guides & Tutorials on RefWorks and EndNote

Getting Started with EndNote

About EndNote:  EndNote is a bibliographic management software program installed on your computer. It allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

EndNote can be purchased at a discount through the UIC Webstore by UIC faculty, staff, and students.  

EndNote Quick Start Notes

There are 3 ways to import references into your EndNote account.

  • Auto Export (some UIC databases allow an autoexport)
  • Save and Import as a text file (some UIC databases require you save your reference to a file before you import it into EndNote)
  • Manually - manually type the reference details

The EndNote search will not work with UIC’s subscription databases. [Only freely available databases (e.g.PubMed), are accessible through EndNote.]

You can, however, search UIC's catalog by downloading and installing this connection file: https://endnote.com/connections_download/university-of-illinois-chicago/

If you need further assistance with importing/ exporting citations into EndNote, please contact Ask a Librarian. The UIC Library can help with basic importing/ exporting questions, but we are not able to assist with technical issues you may have with EndNote. 

For technical issues, please contact EndNote's Technical Support

Take a look at EndNote's Getting Started Guides for PC and Macs.

 

How to Get Full Text Articles Through EndNote

EndNote's finding full text feature is not 100% accurate.  You may have to look for PDF on the library website and attach the PDFs to that citation. Articles that are not available as PDFs on the library website may be requested for free through an Illiad or Interlibrary Loan account.

It is possible to configure EndNote X3 and later to link to full-text available through UIC.   

  1. Go to Edit and select Preferences.  Click on the Find Full-text link.
  2. Check off the boxes for DOI, etc. for full text options.  Check off the box for Automatically Invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references to automatically bring in PDFs if available. 
  3. After the Open URL box is checked off, put in the Open URL Path the following URL: https://i-share-uic.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01CARLI_UIC/01CARLI_UIC:CARLI_UIC?
  4. Click on the Authenticate with URL box and enter http://proxy.cc.uic.edu/login?url=     
  5. Click on the Apply button in the lower right corner then hit the OK button.

Note: The first time you look for full text articles within EndNote, you will be asked to authenticate with your UIC NETID and password.  After you put in your NETID and password, click the Done button on the lower right corner.

To check if an item is available full-text at UIC, do the following in EndNote: 

  1. Click to highlight the imported reference you want to check for full-text access. 
  2. Next click on References at the top of EndNote, slide down to URL - and click on open URL Link.  This will bring up a webpage linking to the full-text, if available.

EndNote Preferences for Finding Full Text

 

To get to a full text article when the PDF is not attached, go to References than URL then Open URL Link. 

Screenshot of how to get to URL for full text article