Disability services navigation
This guide provides information on how to do library research in all business subjects using resources available to students, staff, and faculty at UIC.
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2014
- ABI Inform Global
ABI/INFORM is a business research database with full-text articles from business journals and newspapers.
- ACCRA Cost of Living Index
Statistical package of cost-of-living index from 1990 to present.
- Africa Development Indicators
ADI is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2010.
- Bloomberg Professional
Bloomberg terminals are available for current UIC students in the CME Training Lab, Douglas Hall and one terminal is available in the Daley Library, IDEA Commons.
- Business Source Premier
Full text of more than 2,100 business and trade journals, some going back to 1965. Also includes company information and market reports.
Comprehensive resource for research into taxation.
- Conference Board Online
Management and economic reports and analysis.
- Economist Intelligence Unit
Country data and forecasts, market indicators, macroeconomic forecasts
Reports on a broad range of IT issues, including standards, protocols and
profiles of companies, products and services. Provides market analysis
for many segments of the industry and products.
April 17, 2013
- Frost & Sullivan-Growth Partnership
Emerging market forecasts in selected industries, especially health care trends and new medical technologies.
- Gartner Core Research
Gartner Core Research provides access to research and analysis on information technology (IT) technologies, practices, and strategies performed by the Gartner Group. The University of Illinois Administrative Information Technology Services subscribes to this database. Selected reports are available for students, faculty and staff of the University of Illinois. Off-campus access is available through the use of the VPN client. Users most log in with their enterprise IDs and password.
- Global Economic Monitor
GEM provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries.
- Hoover's Online
Financial information on companies, with competitor information. Includes many smaller and private companies.
The country’s most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research Reports. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
- International Directory of Company Histories
International Directory of Company Histories provides in-depth histories of companies that are significant in an industry or geographic location.
- LexisNexis Academic
News, business, government and law; business journals; broadcast transcripts; case law; law reviews; company information, etc.
- Market Share Reporter
Compilation of market share data on companies, products, and services. Includes both the data and the source
- Mergent Archives
Access to the full run of Mergent Manuals, formerly known as Moody's Manuals, 1909 to present; the Municipal and Government Manual, 1918 to present; and historical annual reports, 1925 to present. Incorporates the information formerly in Mergent WebReports.
- Mergent Intellect
Use to download Hoover's Build A List results.
- Mergent Online
Financial information on US and international companies.
- Mintel Global Market Navigator
Data on U.S. and international consumer products and services. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
- Mintel Oxygen
U.S. and European market research reports on consumer products and trends. Note
: You must create an individual account profile using your UIC email address. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
- OECD iLibrary
The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development collection of statistical databases, books and papers on economics, industries, trade and development worldwide.
Identifies company and industry information including company profiles, news, business and trade articles.
- Plunkett Research E-Books
TO ACCESS E-BOOKS FROM THE HOME/INDUSTRY LIST PAGE, CLICK Purchased Ebooks LINK ON THE FAR BOTTOM RIGHT.
Plunkett's E-Commerce & Internet Business Almanac 2012
Plunkett's InfoTech Industry Almanac 2012
Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac 2012
Plunkett's Games, Apps and Social Media Industry Almanac 2012
Plunkett's Green Technology Industry Almanac 2012
Plunkett's Health Care Industry Almanac 2012
Plunkett's Biotech & Genetics Industry Almanac 2012
PrivCo is the premiere source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
- Product Launch Analytics
International coverage of newly launched consumer products. Tracks products, packaging and innovation.
- Redbooks (formerly Advertising Redbooks)
Covers both advertising agencies and advertisers. For advertising agencies, gives basic company information, media specialties and list of clients. For advertisers, includes basic company information, products, where they advertise and advertising budgets.
Contains basic and some financial information on 24 million US companies.
It is a good source for information on small and private companies.
Mapping application that allows users to customize interactive maps & reports using thousands of data variables.
To utilize this database you must create an account (personal workspace).
- Uniworld Online
Provides listings for American firms and their locations in other countries and firms based in other countries with locations in the United States. Can be used to track foreign subsidiaries or for job and internship opportunities.
- Vault Career Insider
Use to research employers, industries and career subjects. Ranks and reviews companies and internship opportunities. Provides resume and interview advice. November 15, 2013
- Wall Street Journal - Eastern edition
- Wharton WRDS Business & Financial Databases
Made available by the College of Business Administration. for CBA graduate students and faculty. An individual account must be requested.
- World Bank eLibrary (E-books)
Over 2,000 e-books and 3,000+ working papers published by the World Bank on development issues.
- World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
Published by the World Bank. The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.