Subject and Course Guides: Business Research Guide: Statistics and Data

Other Data Sources

Additional sources for all types of data are listed in the following research guide. Some of these may be useful for business topics, especially the local sources.

Finding Data and Data Services

Polling Data Sources through UIC

ICPSR : Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research
Archives of social science data for research and instruction.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.
iPOLL
Datasets of opinion polls conducted in the U.S. from 1935 to the present. See also Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
iPOLL is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in opinion polls in the US since 1935. For US data, iPOLL permits you to locate questions (and the answers of the full sample) and then to link to the data files and run secondary analysis. Support for these services is available from the Roper Center.

Tutorials for Gathering Demographics

SimplyAnalytics Tutorial

Databases

Connect to Cook County
Data portal from Cook County providing ESRI demographic data for Cook County. Can create maps and reports.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
International economic and market data; country data and analysis. Includes Country Commerce, Market Indicators & Forecasts, Country Data, Country Finance, Business Middle East, Risk Rating Review, Global Outlook, Country Forecasts, and Country Reports
The Economist Intelligence Unit provides country commerce, market forecasts and indicators, reports, and risk reviews. The EIU CountryData database is a good place to start. It combines the data in one powerful search interface that allows you to save and download results in spreadsheet or other formats. Also includes Business Middle East and Global Outlook.
Global Economic Monitor
GEM provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries.
Daily data is provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, commodity prices and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade, etc. Quarterly data is available for GDP, current account balances, and budget balances. All data sets are updated each weekday to capture the latest available observations.
Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial ed.
Quantitative facts about American history. Provides downloadable data sets, with introductions and analysis by experts.
Historical Statistics of the U.S. (Millennial Edition, published 2006) presents quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, from earliest time to the present.
International Monetary Fund eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.
SimplyAnalytics
Create maps and reports for any geographic area in the United States using thousands of demographic, business and marketing variables. Nielsen Claritas Prizm and Experian SimmonsLOCAL modules provide detailed data on the American consumer including consumer behavior, lifestyle, attitudes, spending, and brand preferences. Can also download data to a spreadsheet.
To utilize this database you must create an account (personal workspace).
Statista
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
Global economic indicators.
Published by World Bank
World Development Indicators Online (WDI) can be searched for more than 600 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups.

UIC Student Demographics

Student Data Book

Web Sites

Census Data
Official U.S. site of data from the last census. See also: Historical Statistics of the U.S. elsewhere in this guide.
Official U.S. census data viewable in a variety of formats. See also: Historical Statistics of the U.S. (Millennial edition), elsewhere in this guide.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Ceased collecting data in 2011, but useful to see which agency publishes specific data.
Federal Reserve's Beige Book
Published eight times each year, provides information on current economic conditions in 12 districts. Can click on the report for the Chicago district.
United States Bureau of Economic Analysis
United States Department of Labor
United Nations Data

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Business Research Guide: Statistics and Data

Other Data Sources

Polling Data Sources through UIC

Tutorials for Gathering Demographics

Databases

UIC Student Demographics

Web Sites

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library