Background on a Country
- Britannica AcademicLong reports, includes history and cultural information.
- Library of Congress Country StudiesIn-depth reports on history, culture, economy and social structure of a country. May be old.
- World Fact Book (CIA)Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
Doing Business In ...
Country Commercial Guides has a focus on exporting information, but provides basic information about doing business in or with 125 countries.
Put out by the World Bank Group, these sites gives practical information about doing business in 190 countries.
Country Information-Statistics and Forecasts
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
International economic and market data; country data and analysis. UIC subscription doesn't include Industry Reports. May not be compatible with Firefox.
- International Monetary Fund eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.
- Passport GMID (Euromonitor International)An online market research tool that tracks industry trends, macroeconomic and socioeconomic information using raw data, contextual reports and visual tools. Coverage includes 26 different consumer industries in 100 countries, macroeconomics and socioeconomics in 210 countries globally, and COVID-19 monitoring.
- StatistaCountry reports, listed under Reports tab, give in-depth business information for 149 countries.
- World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
Published by the World Bank. The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Global statistics by topic, country or OEC department. Free access or free trials on data.
- International Debt Statistics
Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies (data from Quarterly External Debt Statistics and Quarterly Public Sector Debt databases). Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2015, for most reporting countries, and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2023.
Articles
- ABI/INFORM GlobalABI/INFORM is a business research database with full-text articles from business journals and newspapers.
- Access World News Research Collection: 2023 EditionCan find articles written in local news sources, frequently translated into English.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full-text to a large number of business sources, including business journals, trade publications and business magazines. Includes Country Monitor, which gives good country reports.