Pharmaceutical Sciences: Databases

Login here. CAS SciFinder-n is the premier chemistry database produced by the American Chemical Society.

Register for SciFinder-n web access with your UIC email address.

Chemistry information from English language organic chemistry and life science patent documents published since 1976. It is united with Beilstein/Gmelin organic & inorganic chemistry databases in Reaxys.

Reaxys is a new structure that unifies Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry databases. It also includes journal literature (1771 - present) and patent literature (1869 - present) along with search, analysis and workflow tools.

AHFS Drug Information is a drug information database, providing an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy.

Comprehensive drug reference solution providing quick access to current, accurate and clinically-relevant drug information.

Database of evidence-based systematic reviews of diagnostic tests, public health, pharmacology, surgery, psychology and the health care system.

Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.

New version of Lexis Nexis Academic. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and full-text law review articles. See the Newspapers Research Guide [ link https://researchguides.uic.edu/newspapers/top ] for library database coverage of the top 20 U.S. newspapers.

See: International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration

Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.

Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.

PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Provides downloadable doctoral dissertations originating from universities in the Big Ten conference from 1997 to present. More dissertations from other North American and European universities are available for preview and individual purchase.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

INDIGO, provided and maintained by the Library, offers open access to the intellectual work of UIC faculty.

Note: Access to some dissertations may be restricted at the discretion of the author or publisher.

Open access publisher of science-technology-medicine journals; databases of controlled trials.

Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal. Includes captions and transcripts.

Note: to create a JoVE test for a video, you need to create an account and then register as either a professor or student. Then you need to click confirm under Newsletter to complete the registration.

A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Find, evaluate and implement protocols and methods across the life sciences. Includes Springer Protocols, Nature Protocols, and Nature Methods. UIC's subscription does not include Nature Reviews Methods Primers.

Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.

Search resources from the Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University.

IEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.

Note: If you're unable to set up an IEEE account, go to https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/. After creating an account, go to IEEE in the library website and sign in.