Methods and investigative techniques
- Current ProtocolsCurrent Protocols provides access to the large collection of authoritative, peer-reviewed, regularly-updated research methods and topical overviews in the life sciences. In January 2021, the publisher merged all individual legacy protocol titles into a new title, Current Protocols. The UIC Library only subscribes to:
Current Protocols in Immunology
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
The archives for both sections can be accessed by selecting Browse Articles and clicking on Issue Archive. - Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) Science Education VideosDirect link to JoVE Science Education videos.
Note: to create a JoVE test for a video, you need to create an account and then register as either a professor or student. Then you need to click confirm under Newsletter to complete the registration. - Methods in EnzymologySeries of e-books in enzymology, 1955 to present.
- Wiley Online Library
Platform for searching across all Wiley journals, online books from 2005-2011, and Current Protocols laboratory manuals.
Topic specific books and preset catalog searches
Searches
- Drug Delivery Catalog searchCatalog search encompasses all I-Share Libraries. Non-UIC items can be requested through interlibrary loan.
- Drug Delivery Springer BooksSpringer Ebooks search does not include "preview only" content. Click to include/view. Some items may be available through interlibrary loan.
- Drug Delivery Wiley SearchWiley Online Library is UIC content only.
Recommended Books
Pharmacokinetics in Drug Development by ISBN: 9781441979360Publication Date: 2011-02-23The topics chosen for this volume were selected because they are some of the current development or technological issues facing drug development project teams. They regard the practical considerations for assessment of selected special development populations such as: characterization of drug disposition in pregnant subjects, for measuring arrhythmic potential, for analysis tumor growth modeling, and for disease progression modeling.
Design of Experiments for Pharmaceutical Product Development by ISBN: 9789813347168Publication Date: 2021-01-13This book volume provides complete and updated information on the applications of Design of Experiments (DoE) and related multivariate techniques at various stages of pharmaceutical product development. It discusses the applications of experimental designs that shall include oral, topical, transdermal, injectables preparations, and beyond for nanopharmaceutical product development, leading to dedicated case studies on various pharmaceutical experiments through illustrations, art-works, tables and figures.
Drug Discovery and Development by ISBN: 9789811555336Publication Date: 2021-02-16This book describes the processes that are involved in the development of new drugs. The authors discuss the history, role of natural products and concept of receptor interactions with regard to the initial stages of drug discovery. It outlines the basics of pharmacological screening, drug target identification, and genetics involved in early drug discovery. The final chapters introduce readers to stem therapeutics, pharmacokinetics, pharmacovigilance, and toxicological testing.
Immunopathology in Toxicology and Drug Development by ISBN: 9783319473840Publication Date: 2017-04-26This book provides a fundamental understanding of immunopathology and immunopathologic processes, with particular attention to nonclinical toxicology studies. Chapters provide organ system-based summaries of spontaneous pathology and common responses to xenobiotics.
Searches
- Drug Discovery or Development Catalog SearchCatalog search encompasses all I-Share libraries. Non-UIC items can be requested through interlibrary loan.
- Drug Discovery or Development Springer BooksSpringer Ebooks search does not include "preview only" content. Click to include/view. Some items may be available through interlibrary loan.
- Drug Discovery or Development Wiley SearchWiley Online Library is UIC content only.
Recommended Books
Basic Concepts in Medicinal Chemistry by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781585286010Publication Date: 2018-08-30Basic Concepts in Medicinal Chemistry builds knowledge of fundamental concepts of medicinal chemistry and applications to therapeutic decisions.
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery, and Development by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780471266945Publication Date: 2021-04-02
Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry by Call Number: QV 744 F796 2020ISBN: 1496385020Publication Date: 2019-08-29Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry explains the chemical basis of drug action, emphasizing the structure-activity relationships, physicochemical-pharmacokinetic properties, and metabolic profiles of the most commonly used drugs.
Kinetics of Enzyme Action by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781118084397Publication Date: 2011-05-18Beginning with the most basic principles pertaining to simple, one-substrate enzyme reactions and their inhibitors, and progressing to a thorough treatment of two-substrate enzymes, Kinetics of Enzyme Action: Essential Principles for Drug Hunters provides biochemists, medicinal chemists, and pharmaceutical scientists with numerous case study examples to outline the tools and techniques necessary to perform, understand, and interpret detailed kinetic studies for drug discovery.
An Introduction to Medicinal Chemistry by Call Number: QV 744 P314i 2017ISBN: 9780198749691Publication Date: 2017-06-20An Introduction to Medicinal Chemistry, sixth edition, covers the key principles of drug design and drug action. The text also discusses important current topics in medicinal chemistry, case studies highlighting particular classes of drugs, and the stories behind their discovery and development.
Medicinal Chemistry by Call Number: QV744 T4567m 2007ISBN: 9780470025970Publication Date: 2008-01-22Medicinal Chemistry explains fundamental principles, assuming little in the way of prior knowledge. The book focuses on the chemical principles used for drug discovery and design covering physiology and biology where relevant. It opens with a broad overview of the subject with subsequent chapters examining topics in greater depth.
The Organic Chemistry of Drug Design and Drug Action by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0123820316Publication Date: 2014-03-29The Organic Chemistry of Drug Design and Drug Action, Third Edition, represents a unique approach to medicinal chemistry based on physical organic chemical principles and reaction mechanisms that rationalize drug action
Strategic Applications of Named Reactions in Organic Synthesis by Call Number: QD262 .K86 2005ISBN: 9780124297852Publication Date: 2005-04-29This innovative reference work includes 250 organic reactions and their strategic use in the synthesis of complex natural and unnatural products. Reactions are thoroughly discussed in a convenient, two-page layout--using full color.
Searches
- Pharmacognosy Catalog searchCatalog search encompasses all I-Share libraries. Non-UIC items can be requested by interlibrary loan.
- Pharmacognosy Springer books searchSpringer Ebooks search does not include "preview only" content. Click to include/view. Some items may be available by interlibrary loan.
- Pharmacognosy Wiley SearchWiley Online Library is UIC content only.
Recommended Books
Structure Determination of Organic Compounds by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9783662624395Publication Date: 2020
Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds by Call Number: QD 272 .S6 S587s 2015ISBN: 9780470616376Publication Date: 2015-09-29This text presents a unified approach to the structure determination of organic compounds based largely on mass spectrometry, infrared (IR) spectroscopy, and multinuclear and multidimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy.
Organic Structure Analysis by Call Number: QY90 C927o 2010ISBN: 9780195336047Publication Date: 2010-10-29Organic Structure Analysis, Second Edition, emphasizes real applications--integrating theory as needed--and introduces students to the latest spectroscopic methods.
Problems in Organic Structure Determination by ISBN: 9781498719636Publication Date: 2015-10-14At a point where most introductory organic chemistry texts end, this problems-based workbook picks up the thread to lead students through a graduated set of 120 problems. With extensive detailed spectral data, it contains a variety of problems designed by renowned authors to develop proficiency in organic structure determination.
