Skip to Main Content

Chemistry

This is a guide to UIC library databases and other resources in chemistry.

Crystals: Clarity in Refraction Akshay Pandey Images of Research Honorable Mention

Main Chemistry Databases

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
SciFinder-n
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. You must also connect to SciFinder-n via a UIC IP address on campus, or through VPN or the proxy.
Reaxys
Reaxys is a new structure that unifies Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry databases. It also includes journal literature (1771 - present) and patent literature (1869 - present) along with search, analysis and workflow tools.
The merger of three prestigious databases puts all the relevant data at the user’s fingertips. A search across the Reaxys database delivers a single results set and each record provides details excerpted from multiple patent or journal sources. Offering a wealth of experimentally validated information, Reaxys brings a fresh look to synthetic chemistry with powerful functionality, combined content and relevant information.