Definition of a Literature Review
A literature review describes, summarizes and analyzes previously published literature in a field. What you want to do is demonstrate your knowledge and understanding of what the "conversation" about this topic is, identify gaps in the literature, present research pertinent to your ideas and how your research fits in with, changes, elaborates on, etc., the present conversation.
Recommended article about literature reviews:
Maggio LA, Sewell JL, Artino AR. The Literature Review: A Foundation for High-Quality Medical Education Research. J Grad Med Educ. 2016;8(3):297-303.
RefWorks
RefWorks is a citation management tool that allows you to save citations from your literature searches, organize citations into project folders, and create bibliographies using appropriate citation styles.
- RefWorksRefWorks is an online bibliography management service that allows you to capture citations, store them, and use them while writing papers.
DSM-V
- DSM-V LibraryThis is the newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). It includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5, and DSM-5 Legacy.
- DSM Legacy CollectionThe collection has previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. They include DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.
Database to Use
- PubMedPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica DatabaseDatabase in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - PsycINFONow called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- HAPI: Health and Psychosocial Instruments :Information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests). Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- Web of ScienceMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Google ScholarSearches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Book Resources
The Clinician's Guide to Medical Writing by
This book is for any clinician who wants to write. It is for the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who sees patients and also wants to contribute to the medical literature. It is for the assistant professor aspiring to promotion and the clinician in private practice seeking personal enrichment. Loaded with practical advice and real-world examples, this text benefits readers who are new to medical writing and those who have authored a few articles or chapters and want to improve.Readers relate to this book because it is written by someone who has been in their shoes. Dr. Robert B. Taylor is a leader in the field of family medicine. Unlike the authors of many other books who have little experience outside of academia or publishing, writing is just one component of his career. He wrote this book to share what works and what doesnt in medical writing. Clinicians learn how to translate observations and ideas from their practices into written form and eventually into print.
ISBN: 0387222499Publication Date: 2004-10-01
How to Write a Paper by
This concise paperback is one of the best known guides to writing a paper for publication in biomedical journals. Its straightforward format - a chapter covering each of part of the structured abstract - makes it relevant and easy to use for any novice paper writer. How to Write a Paper addresses the mechanics of submission, including electronic submission, and how publishers handle papers, writing letters to journals abstracts for scientific meetings, and assessing papers. This new edition also covers how to write a book review and updated chapters on ethics, electronic publication and submission, and the movement for open access.
ISBN: 9781118488737Publication Date: 2012-10-19
Planning Your Research and How to Write It by
This book is a practical guide for residents and young researchers who are planning to embark on research. It details the significant planning one must first do including choosing a suitable experienced clinician as a supervisor, sourcing for a 'winning idea' with significant clinical impact, performing a proper review of literature, defining clearly the objectives to be set and adopting the appropriate methodology. Statistical evaluation must be done from the start of the research to define adequate sample size and also for evaluation of the results. It also advises how one should draw upon relevant and appropriate conclusions from the results obtained.The ethics of research is also discussed. An all-important factor in research is the procurement of research grants. Readers are guided how to write a proper research proposal to secure these much needed grants.Many research papers end up as presentations only in local or international conferences. An important additional objective of this book is to guide young researchers how to write their finished product — as a publication in an important international, refereed journal or as a thesis. Chapters have been specially written with tips for scientific writing, selecting the right journal, writing for an original article for a journal, a review article, a case report as well as for a thesis. Tips are also written on what reviewers of a journal look for in an article as well as what examiners look for in a thesis.
Call Number: W20.5 P712 2016ISBN: 9789814651042Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix Method, Fourth Edition helps students and practitioners better understand scientific literature by instilling the essential skills (via the matrix method) needed to evaluate article findings critically. Covered at the most basic level are the fundamental principles of searching, organizing, reviewing, and synthesizing. Woven throughout the text are visual examples and a single case study This easy-to-read and practical reference is an invaluable aid to students, researchers, and practitioners.
Call Number: WZ345 G238h 2011ISBN: 9780763771867Publication Date: 2010-05-01
