Welcome
Welcome to the Peoria Residency Guide. This guide's purpose is to give you a starting point of accessing evidence for clinical decision making and research information resources. Please check out the subject tabs for disciplinary-specific information. If you don't see your discipline, please contact the Librarians at LHS-Peoria for further support.
Point of Care Information Resources
Evidence-based point of care
- DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
- DynaMed with IsabelMedical information database of clinical topic summaries, including a grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Includes Isabel which is used by physicians to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis.
Note: If you get an authentication failed message, close your browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
Peer-reviewed Clinical Decision Support
Drug Information Resource
Research Databases
The following databases will lead you to scholarly articles for use in clinical care and research.
EBM Resources
- BMJ Best Practice EBM ToolkitLearn about EBM and current tools to use for clinical practice.
- JAMAevidence This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based medicine (EBM) integrates the best available evidence with clinical experience that allows clinicians to recommend, and their patients to make, informed choices consistent with their values. JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. Includes captions and transcripts.
- ACP Journal ClubACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals. Research staff and clinical editors rigorously assess the scientific merit of the medical literature as it is published and a worldwide panel of over 5000 physicians assesses the clinical relevance and newsworthiness of rigorous studies.
- Cochrane Clinical AnswersCochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews.
- ACFP Tools for PracticeEvidence-based topic summaries on common clinical questions seen in general practice. Prepared by the Alberta College of Family Phycisians.
- PubMed Clinical Queries"This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics." [National Library of Medicine]
- Trip ProTrip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS
PubMed@UIC
RefWorks
The new version of RefWorks has increased capabilities like importing pdf documents and a Google docs add-on. For more information, see our RefWorks page.
Related Guides
LHS-Peoria Homepage
Access the Library of the Health Sciences - Peoria Homepage for access to more resources and services.