Skip to Main Content

All About Chicago

Welcome! This guide provides information and data resources about Chicago. Originally created by Araceli Moreno.

Chicago Geography

Chicago the City

  • The city is organized into 50 wards represented by an alderman. 
  • 77 community areas officially recognized by the city of Chicago are reflected in the census maps.
  • Community areas are made of of multiple census tracts.
  • Community areas can be made up of multiple neighborhoods.
  • City Council, Your Ward & Alderman Information on each local government level
  • Below is a map of Chicago's community areas: 
  • Map of Chicago Community Areas

Chicago the Metropolitan Area (map in green): 

Is comprised of the city of Chicago and the northeastern Illinois counties: Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will. 

Chicago the Metropolitan Statistical Area (map in blue): 

According to the Census Bureau includes: Chicago, Naperville, Elgin and parts of Indiana and Wisconsin. 

maps of Chicago and Chicago area