America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
America: History and Life is a resource for a variety of disciplines, including:
* American Studies
* Interdisciplinary Studies
* Multicultural Studies
* Popular Culture
* Women's Studies/Gender Studies
* History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law
Coverage of criminal justice and substance abuse. From 1968 to present.
Subject coverage from 1968 to present includes:
* Adult Corrections
* Behavioral Science
* Courts and the Legal Process
* Crime, the Offender & the Victim
* Crime Prevention & Control Strategies
* Economic & Political Sciences
* Juvenile Justice & Delinquency
* Social Work
* Substance Abuse
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
This database is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. Coverage includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
International literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. From 1975 to present.
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. As of February 2004 approximately 1,432 titles are being monitored for coverage; this list will continue to grow.
Enhancements to the new database include the capability to link to electronic fulltext and the addition of new fields to the record structure. Furthermore, many records from key journals in political science, published since 2000, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles. All records added since 2000 are indexed using a thesaurus of over 3,000 terms.