Skip to Main Content

All About Chicago

Welcome! This guide provides information and data resources about Chicago. Originally created by Araceli Moreno.

Chicago History

America: History and Life

America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Our EBSCOhost databases moved to a new user interface during summer 2025.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com

America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture, and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.

America: History and Life is a resource for a variety of disciplines, including:

* History
* American Studies
* Anthropology
* Genealogy
* Interdisciplinary Studies
* Literature/Folklore
* Multicultural Studies
* Popular Culture
* Sociology
* Women's Studies/Gender Studies
* History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law

CAN TV Archives
Archive of public access TV programs produced by Chicago residents since 1983. Topics include public housing, corruption, police reform, and local politics.
Chicago and the Midwest (Newberry Library)
Primary resources digitized by the Newberry Library
Chicago Board of Trade Finding Aids
Use these guides to investigate the wealth of original documents related to the history of the Chicago Board of Trade.
Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey
The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey is a collection of translations of newspaper articles originally published in Chicago's ethnic press between the 1860s and the 1930s.
Chicago History Museum
Shares Chicago's stories; is the city’s oldest cultural institution and home to millions of historical objects, images, and documents
Educational History in Chicago
A research guide to special collections and primary sources at UIC Library that might be helpful for students researching educational and curriculum history in the Chicago area.
Electronic Encyclopedia of Chicago
The Chicago History Museum, The Newberry Library, and Northwestern University produced the Electronic Encyclopedia of Chicago, edited by Janice L. Reiff, Ann Durkin Keating , and James R. Grossman.
Explore Chicago Collections
The Chicago Collections Consortium aspires to increase public and scholarly interest in and study of the Chicago region's diverse history and culture. On this website, you can search and browse hundreds of collections from 20 different Chicago-area libraries, including UIC!
Illinois Youth Survey by Community Area
Survey of youth in Chicago neighborhoods about a variety of health and social indicators including substance use patterns and attitudes.
In the Vicinity of Maxwell and Halsted Streets: Chicago 1890-1930 – A Human Documentary
Investigates and evaluates comprehensively and in depth the complexities of the Progressive era in U.S. History from the unique perspective of Chicago. Developed by Prof. Burton J. Bledstein and funded with a special grant from the Offices of the Provost, the Illinois Humanities Council, and many other organizations at UIC and beyond.
Latin-Americans in Chicago
A guide to conducting primary source research and finding relevant collections at the UIC Library, Special Collections and beyond.

Last Updated: May 15, 2025 8:46 AM
URL: https://researchguides.uic.edu/AboutChicago
Print Page

Subjects: Social Sciences, Sociology, Urban Planning & Public Affairs

Tags: chicago, daley