Nursing Library Liaisons
Chicago Liaisons:
Rebecca Raszewski
Graduate Nursing (MSN/DNP/PhD)
UI Health Nurses
(312) 996-2759
raszewr1@uic.edu
Annie Nickum
Pre-Licensure (MSN/RN-BSN)
UI Health Nurses
(312) 413-2464
anicku2@uic.edu
Jeanne Link
MSN Graduate Entry (Chicago only)
BSN (Springfield & Urbana only)
Certificate Programs
312-996-2227
jlink@uic.edu
Peoria & Quad Cities Liaison:
Emily Johnson-Barlow
Graduate Nursing (MSN/DNP)
(309) 671-8491
emj11@uic.edu
Rockford Liaison:
Cynthia Reynolds
Graduate Nursing (MSN/DNP)
(815) 395-5658
cmreynol@uic.edu
Springfield/Urbana
Graduate Students
Please contact us and the nursing liaisons will triage your question or appointment request.
Library Toolbox
Find books and more with UIC Library Search:
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested by selecting All I-Share Libraries.
Find full text
Search for E-journals, Magazines, Newspapers or E-books
links to full text information from within library database results.
My Account
Connect to My Account in UIC Library Search.
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.
RefWorks
Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with
NURS 540 E-books
Health Care Politics, Policy, and Services, Third Edition by ISBN: 0826168973Publication Date: 2018Unlimited access to e-book
Health Policy and Advanced Practice Nursing, Second Edition by ISBN: 9780826169440Publication Date: 2018Unlimited access to e-book
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide by ISBN: 9781284117165Publication Date: 2017Only one user at a time can access this e-book.
Using Nursing Research to Shape Health Policy by ISBN: 0826170102Publication Date: 2017Unlimited access to e-book.
Health Sciences Databases
Go to the Health Sciences Databases page or the UIC Library Database A to Z list for additional databases.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration - EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - HAPI: Health and Psychosocial Instruments :Information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests). Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- JBI ConnectClinical evidence-based system for nursing and medicine. Provided by the Joanna Briggs Institute.
- MEDLINE through Ovid (1947 to Present)National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
- MEDLINE via PubMed@UICPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations and additional life sciences books and databases. From mid-1960s to present.
- PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- ScienceDirect
A web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Sociological Databases
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Political Science Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM is an extensive business research database with full-text articles from business journals, business and trade magazines and newspapers.
- Political Science Abstracts WorldwideInternational literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. From 1975 to present. See also Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Government and Public Policy Databases
- CQ : Congressional Quarterly ResearcherProvides snapshots of current affairs. Single-themed reports are researched and written by experienced observers from a range of viewpoints. From 1923 to present.
- Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS Index)
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchProvided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
Course Reserves/Blackboard
UIC Library Search
Discover the world of library content
Take a look at the Search Help Guide to learn more about finding articles, books, and more.
E-Books Collections
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files. - Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Ebook Central
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
- Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online is a digital reference shelf of topical encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries with emphasis on Literature and Western Civilization . Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- R2 Digital Library
Provides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works.
- SAGE Reference E-BooksGrowing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.